top of page

'Childhood Sweetheart' by Wendy Clarke


Book Description:


Bang. Bang. Bang. I jump as the knocks on the window crash above the roaring wind outside. Who could it be, at this late hour? I open the curtains and peer outside. ‘Hello?’ But the dark, the rain and the empty lane are all I see.


It’s been eleven years since I last saw Jonah, after his brother died that stormy summer night. And now, without warning, he’s back, living in his old house next door just like old times, on the remote Scottish island that is home. Where I used to imagine we’d stay, together, forever, sharing our lives and our secrets as we always had. But that was before.


Jonah’s not the sweet boy I once knew. His mood is changeable, his behaviour unstable, our brief conversations are forced and awkward. And then the knocks on my window begin. It can only be him, but why, and what does he want?


I used to love him. Now I don’t even want to invite him in. Because after all these years, I see our childhood secrets, the ones we swore never to reveal, in a newly terrifying light. Was his brother’s death truly an accident? Could Jonah’s secrets have been worth killing for? And how safe am I now, on this isolated island, with the man I used to love…?


A totally addictive and twisty psychological thriller with a jaw-dropping twist. Anyone who loves The Woman in the WindowThe Wife Between Us and The Housemaid won’t beable to put Childhood Sweetheart down!






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Childhood Sweetheart' by Wendy Clarke.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Wendy Clarke, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 23rd August 2022.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Blind Date' which I would highly recommend!!


I was originally drawn to this book by its stunning eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I am also a huge fan of Wendy after reading 'Blind Date' and if this book is half as good as that is it's guaranteed to be a page turner! The synopsis stated that 'Anyone who loves The Woman in the Window, The Wife Between Us and The Housemaid won’t beable to put Childhood Sweetheart down!' I am a huge fan of 'The Wife Between Us' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 49 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Scotland 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 ,UK 🇬🇧. I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have actually holidayed in Scotland on several occasions so will be keeping an eye out to see if I recognise any places mentioned.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Ailsa and Jonah Wallace. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


OMG!!! Wow!!! I was NOT expecting any of that!! Mind absolutely BLOWN!!!!



Well, well, well Wow!!! What an absolute cracker of a book!!! This book sucked me straight in from beginning to the explosive ending. It was very well written with excellent descriptions which put me straight into the storyline. The blog, title and the cover suited the book perfectly.


The storyline was very fast paced and filled with Drama, tension and suspense. The prologue had me hook,line and sinker and gives readers something to sink their teeth and imaginations into immediately! A very believable storyline which kept me on edge throughout. I loved all the twists and turns and throughout it kept me guessing what was going on and who was doing what. I would NEVER have guessed at the ending so a MASSIVE WELL DONE to Wendy. I have read many thrillers and it's getting harder and harder for me to be surprised so great job there. There were so many mysteries in this book it just kept getting better and better!!! It was filled with suspense, romance, tension, friendship, lies and deceit and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout!!! My heart was pounding and the hairs on my arms were raised while I was on the edge of my seat biting my nails reading this!! The Scottish dialogue used throughout made the story more realistic and adds to the feeling that you are there with Ailsa and Jonah. The only thing I was gutted about was that the setting was a figment of Wendy's imagination . However , you would never have thought this when reading as Wendy describes the scene perfectly and it sounded gorgeous. Sadly you can't visit Bray or The Stag in real life but if you want to visit these stunning places you just need to open the pages of this mind blowing novel!! If you pick this up make sure you clear your diaries as you will NOT be able to put it down until the explosive ending!!! I loved the storyline and just loved everything about it. It was all done perfectly!! This would make an absolutely amazing movie!!!


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.



THE characters were fantastic, solid and completely believable, or are they?? Sadly I can't say much more than this as I don't want to give anything away. I will say that Wendy's potrayal of Kyle (Alisha's son) who had autism was 100% realistic and it is lovely to see diversity in a psychological thriller. I was completely invested in both Kyle and Ailsa and I loved the kindness Ailsa showed Seth's dog. The fact that Wendy has researched autism and police procedures absolutely shines through the pages. There's little worse than than a book littered with unnecessary errors as the author hasn't done any research into their plot subjects so a HUGE WELL DONE to Wendy. They all had such different and strong personalities and all suited the storyline perfectly.


Well done Wendy on yet another mind blowing page turner!! This is exactly why you are one of my favourite authors . Here's to your next success 🥂


Overall a compelling, page turning, mind blowing psychological thriller that will keep you up late at night



Genres covered in this book include Thriller, Psychological Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Fiction, Domestic Drama, Crime Thriller and Suspense Thriller amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Woman in the Window, The Wife Between Us, The Housemaid, you, your friends, your neighbours.your family and your pet dog!!!



381 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) and £8.99 on paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@WendyClarke @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


Wendy Clarke was a teacher until the small primary school where she worked closed down. Now she is a writer of psychological suspense but is also well known for her short stories and serials which regularly appear in national women’s magazines.


Wendy has two children and three step-children and lives with her husband, cat and step-dog in Sussex. When not writing, she is usually indulging in her passion for dancing, singing or watching any programme that involves food!






Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Wendy Clarke herehttps://www.bookouture.com/wendy-clarke





Buy Link: 



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love athttp://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo





10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comentarios

Obtuvo 0 de 5 estrellas.
Aún no hay calificaciones

Agrega una calificación
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page