top of page

'Chase Her Shadow' by D.K Hood

Book: CHASE HER SHADOW


Author: D.K. Hood


Pub Day: DECEMBER 9TH 2022


About the book:


She wakes suddenly. Dawn is still hours away, but through the window of her log cabin in the woods, something moves in the distance. A lone figure in the forest. Her blood runs cold as the shadow begins to walk slowly toward her…




It’s Halloween in Black Rock Falls and Sheriff Jenna Alton and her deputy David Kane are called to a small lodge on the outskirts of town. Jenna is devastated to find the lifeless body of Willow Smith, a military widow whose husband went missing in action and has been presumed dead for years. Her breath catches in her throat when she notices the heart-shaped purple medal on Willow’s pale chest. Was Willow clinging to it when she died, or was it placed there after she took her last breath?




Desperately chasing down every lead, Jenna hears that Willow had been receiving silent phone calls in the dead of night. Witnesses say Willow thought her missing husband was trying to make contact. Wishful thinking of a lonely wife consumed with grief, or a heartless killer hoping to terrify her?




Days later, another woman’s body is found at the bottom of a perilous ravine. Jenna’s worst fear is confirmed the moment she spots a purple medal: a dangerous serial killer is preying on the wives of soldiers from the same platoon, and if she doesn’t act fast, more lives will be at risk.




The key lies in discovering what happened to the missing soldiers, and whether any of them made it back alive. But, separated from her team in a secluded forest, Jenna hears a branch snap behind her. She is not alone. Will she be the next victim of a twisted trained soldier on the loose? And how many more grieving widows will have their lives snatched before he’s caught?




Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Kendra Elliot, Chase Her Shadow is a truly unputdownable crime thriller from USA Today bestselling author D.K. Hood. Prepare to be hooked!



**Each Kane and Alton book can be read as part of the series or as a standalone**




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Chase Her Shadow' by DK Hood.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for DK Hood, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 9th December 2022.


This is the seventh book I have read by this author. It is also the seventeenth book in the 'Detective Kane and Alton' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read 'Cross My Heart' (book 12 in the series), 'Fallen Angel' (book 13 in the series), 'Don't Look Back (book 13.5 in the series), ' Pray For Mercy '(book 14 in the series), 'Kiss Her Goodnight' (book 15 in the series) and 'Her Bleeding Heart' (book 16 in the series) and I would highly recommend them all.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Kendra Elliot, Chase Her Shadow is a truly unputdownable crime thriller from USA Today bestselling author D.K. Hood. Prepare to be hooked!' I am a huge fan of all three of those authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of DK Hood and if this is half as good as 'Cross My Heart', 'Don't Look Back', 'Pray For Mercy', 'Fallen Angel', 'Kiss Her Goodnight' and 'Her Bleeding Heart' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 39 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is set in Montana, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in a mix of third and first person perspective and the protagonists are Sheriff Jenna Alton, Detective David Kane and the killer. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. To have the benefit of both first and third person perspective ensures you don't miss out on anything.


OMG!!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVED THIS BOOK and LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS SERIES!!! D.K HOOD you just keep getting better and better!!!


This book is fantastically written and had me hooked from the first page until the last. DK Hood way of writing is perfectly evocative and she has such a creative imagination!! The descriptions were so vivid and realistic I felt myself feeling the cold and damp and reaching for a blanket to warm me up. This has got to be one of the best storylines I have ever read!!!! Just when you've read the best book in this series and it can't get any better BANG DK Hood does it again!! OMG the suspense, especially when I thought I knew who the killer left me with my heart in my throat and my pulse racing!! I can't say much more apart from I was thinking along the same lines as Jo and I'm so relieved we were both wrong!!! Needless to say I absolutely LOVED the storyline. This book is absolutely perfect for any crime lovers as you are literally reading about crime, twists and murder!!! It just does not get better than that!!! Just seriously, I cannot say how brilliant all this book was!!! The storyline is packed with tension, suspense, murder, tension and filled with twists and turns. I was absolutely shocked when everything was revealed and was not expecting it at all!!! I genuinely thought for once I had actually worked out who it was in this amazing series but YET AGAIN DK Hood proves me wrong!! A HUGE congratulations to D.K Hood, it is getting harder and harder to shock me but you did it well!!! . D.K Hood has obviously done her research on police procedurals which is yet another bonus as I've read many crime novels where the authors make massive mistakes due to not doing enough research. I am ABSOLUTELY LANDED that Jenna and Kane finally got married previously but as with everything in Jenna and Kane's life's nothing can go off without a hitch and my heart absolutely went out to them after a certain event and now I have my fingers crossed they'll get the family they want so bad. Well, I say that but at the same time I'd be worried about how much a baby would change Jenna and how she works so maybe not. I'll just have to see just like you will have to pick up this book to find out what made my heart go to my throat and had my pulse racing! This is an absolutely unputdownable page turner and I cannot wait to read the previous and future books in what is promising to be an addictive series.



Although this is the seventeenth book in the series I would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


I absolutely LOVED meeting the characters again and they are all realistic and I became completely invested in them. I love that Jenna is such a strong female lead that has history and has been through so much but doesn't cower and stands strong. I have enjoyed watching her relationship with Kane has evolved and I am looking forward to going back to how they met and moving forward to see where it goes especially in regards to potentially starting a family. Kane is another fantastic character that I became invested in and I adore how protective of Jenna he is. The team dynamics worked well and I also enjoyed getting to know more about Rio, Wolfe and Rowley and I look forward to meeting them all again. I must say my favourite had to be Duke though!!!! What an absolutely fantastic addition, I just love it when pets play such large parts in books. Regardless of whether you love or hate any of the characters they all work perfectly to make this storyline an absolutely addictive, explosive page turner!!! The majority of the characters have become like friends to me and I'm always sad to say goodbye never knowing when I'll "see" them again so I really hope the next book is being written as I speak. Hint hunt 😉 DK Hood!!!


Congratulations D.K Hood on what promises to be another huge success!!! Very rarely an authors books get better but you have certainly mastered it!!! I cannot wait to get stuck into more of your books and this is exactly why you are one my favourite crime authors!!! Here's to your next guaranteed success 🥂


This book is definitely in my top 5 and considering I've read 1000's this is a HUGE achievement!!! This series is also in my top 3 ♥


Do not start this until you have cleared yours schedules as you will not be able to put it down!!



Overall an absolutely addictive, heart racing and unputdownable crime thriller that will keep you up all night.



Genres covered in this novel include Crime Thriller, Psychological Thriller, Police Procedural, Psychological Fiction, Suspense, Mystery, Thriller, Noir Fiction and Crime Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh, Angela Marsons, Rita Herron, Carol Wyer, Kendra Elliot and anyone looking for a gripping page turner .


303 pages.


This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle and £7.99 in paperback via Amazon at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@.ChaseHerShadow @DetectivesKaneAndAlton @DKHood @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Netgalley @Goodreads













Author Bio


D.K. Hood is THE WALL STREET JOURNAL, USA TODAY and AMAZON bestselling author of the Detective Kane and Alton Series. Her spine chilling, fast-paced serial killer thrillers revolve around Sheriff Jenna Alton and her ex-special forces Deputy, Dave Kane. As the main characters fight crime, their secret pasts are never far away. Set in and around the fictional backwoods town of Black Rock Falls, Montana, known locally as Serial Killer Central, D.K.'s imagery takes the reader into the scenes with her. Given the title "Queen of Suspense" by her reviewers, D.K.'s writing style offers her readers a movie style, sizzling fast thrill ride.


Social Media Links






Bookouture Email Sign Up: https://www.bookouture.com/dk-hood





Buy Links:












10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page