top of page

Brown Eyes by Frances Ive. Review.


Book Description


A watchful eye as a marriage falls apart. The phone call, the rows, and the split are all observed by the family Labrador. He knows the habits and senses the moods of his beloved family members. Seeing them unhappy and hurting each other is unbearable. Where did his perfect life go?


Her marriage to Phil in crisis, two children at the challenging teenage stage, and a close friend in peril, Meriel’s world is falling apart. She finds solace in the arms of another man, but is this the answer for her? It is her stubbornness that threatens the family’s future together, until a major loss has a life-changing effect on her. A sliver of hope returns.


Like a fly on the wall, Benji the dog sees it all.


Narrated by both the dog and Meriel, Brown Eyes is written by the author of Finding Jo and Give and Take with a Capital G & T.



BOOK REVIEW



Review for 'Brown Eyes' by Frances Ive.



Read and reviewed for Frances Ive and Five Press.



Publication date 12th January 2022.



This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Ebony The Cat' which I would also highly recommend!!



This book consists of a foreword and 28 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!!


'Brown Eyes' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Frances discusses/includes infidelity and cancer.


Well done Frances on another absolutely gorgeous, page turning read that I just could not put down!!!


I absolutely adored this unique one of a kind storyline!!! This book tells the story of Merial and her family through the eyes of both Meriel herself and the family Labrador Benji. After receiving a phone call Meriel brings down in tears and life between Meriel and her husband Phil comes crashing down. With Benji and the children Ricky and Elly stuck in the middle this story shows the affects that infidelity and family breakup can have on not only families as a whole but the individuals in the family including the children and the family pets. I am a huge believer that animals are extremely clever and more compassionate than many people I know, they pick up on how you are feeling and, like babies and children that cannot talk, are unable to communicate or comfort their owners verbally but do so in ways they are able such as giving cuddles and licks. This really is a beautiful read and although Frances discusses difficult topics such as infidelity and cancer she does so in a compassionate way and weaves these topics perfectly into a gorgeous and thought provoking book. This book is only 228 pages so although I believe it is too long to be classed as a novella it is still a short read but Frances manages to pack such an emotional punch and thought provoking story that will stay with the reader for a long time. I absolutely LOVE that this book is told from the view point of the family pet because who has never wondered what their pets would say if they could talk or wondered what they are thinking? I most certainly have and I must say that the way Frances has written Benji's perspectives is surreally identical to how I believe a family pet would think and feel in these circumstances with feelings of insecurity, worry, doubt and loyalty. Along with the members of the family we get to know we also meet Meriel's best friends Tania and Cathy who are also going through their own struggles. Along with Meriel and Benji's perspectives we also get the chapters written from the perspective of Jane who is Meriel and Phil's marriage counselor. Frances does an absolutely amazing job of weaving the 3 protagonists chapters together perfectly to give the reader a massive insight into the affects one action can have on many. This book will take you on an emotional rollercoaster ride where you will go from anger to joy, heartbreak to happiness and everything in between so make sure you have the tissues at the ready!!! I must say I would absolutely LOVE to be able to know what on earth all my Golden Oldies Cat rescue and hospice cats are thinking and feeling!!! I mean I honestly just absolutely loved him!!! I am a HUGE animal lover myself (well I'd have to be to own a cat rescue 😂)and any books with animals playing main characters is a HUGE bonus for me and Benji is an absolute treasure that I wont be forgetting any time soon !! There was no way I could put this gorgeous book down until I had finished it. Any time I picked it up and even though I kept telling myself just one more chapter I just could not put it down as every time I went to something happened which meant I had to read just one more again until I ended up reading it in one sitting having been glued to my book for a few hours!! This book really is an absolutely gorgeous must read that I would recommend to anyone and everyone and I would love to see it turned into a movie!!


Clear your schedules and grab your tissues ready for this stunning emotional rollercoaster!!! Congratulations Frances on yet another beautiful book filled with emotion, an amazing dog and family drama! Here is to your next guaranteed success 🥂


Overall a beautiful, emotional and unique book about family life after heartbreak from a mum and the family pet's perspectives!!



224 pages


This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £7.99 in paperback via Amazon at time of review which I think is a bargain for this book.






@BrownEyes @FrancesIve @fivepress @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited


































Author Bio


Frances Ive has been a writer throughout her life as a journalist, health writer and author. Recent

fiction includes Finding Jo, Brown Eyes and now the novella, Ebony the Cat.





Social Media Links –





Website for books: www.fivewrite.co.uk (Health website: www.healthysoul.co.uk)




Purchase Links






13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page