top of page

'Broken Screams' by Sally Rigby


Book Blurb



Scream all you want, no one can hear you....


When an attempted murder is linked to a string of unsolved sexual attacks, Detective Chief Inspector Whitney Walker is incensed. All those women who still have sleepless nights because the man who terrorises their dreams is still on the loose.


Calling on forensic psychologist Dr Georgina Cavendish to help, they follow the clues and are alarmed to discover the victims all had one thing in common. Their birthdays were on the 29th February. The same date as a female officer on Whitney’s team.


As the clock ticks down and they’re no nearer to finding the truth, can they stop the villain before he makes sure his next victim will never scream again.


Broken Screams is the twelfth book in the acclaimed Cavendish & Walker series and is perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Helen H Durrant and Rachel McClean.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Broken Screams' by Sally Rigby .


Read and reviewed for ZooLoos Book Tours, Top Drawer Press and Sally Rigby.


Publication date 17th July 2022.


This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also the twelfth book in the 'Cavendish & Walker' series.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Oerfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Helen H Durrant and Rachel McClean'. I am a HUGE fan of Angela so am looking of the book lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Top Drawer Press. I have yet to read a book published by Top Drawer Press that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).



This novel consists of 34 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in Lenchester, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have visited and holidayed in England on a couple of occasions so am looking forward to see if I recognise anywhere.



This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist being Detective Chief Inspector Whitney Walker and forensic psychologist Dr Georgina Cavendish. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists 1are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.



This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and kept me on the edge of my seat. The cover and synopsis suited the storyline perfectly.


OMG!!! MIND ABSOLUTELY BLOWN!!!!


Love, LOVE, LOVED this absolute page turner!! It may be the first book I have read by Sally but I can promise you it won't be the last!!! As soon as I've written this up I'm off to add all her books to my wishlist. The storyline is absolutely ram packed with mystery, murder, romance, tension, suspense and OMG the twists just kept on coming again and again!!! Just when I thought everything that could happen had happened BOOM there was another shocker around the corner. Every time I kept telling myself one more chapter the one I was in ended at a point where there was no way I could stop reading so I absolutely devoured it in one sitting!! I will say thay the fact that the victims being born on the 29th February was a fantastic idea as I've never seen it done in a book before. I WAS absolutely blown away and considering I read approximately 30 books a month that is certainly no easy feat so a HUGE congratulations on that Sally. If you are looking for something unique, filled with suspense and that will blow your mind then this is definitely the book for you!!


It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are and if you are going to bond with them. I must say I had absolutely nothing to worry about and I am ABSOLUTELY loved Whitney and her team!!


Although this is the twelfth book in the series you will have absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT READING THIS UNTIL YOU HAVE CLEARED YOUR SCHEDULES AS YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PUT IT DOWN!!!


I wasn't just 100% invested in the storyline but also in the characters. Every single one of the characters were well defined, realistic and strong. I am most definitely going to hunt down and read all the previous books to see how all the different relationships started and to meet some of the team members that are no longer in the series as part of the team. I absolutely loved the relationship between Whitney and George even though they seem to have complete opposite personalities!! I can't wait to meet them again in past and future books and I have a feeling they will become like close friends !!!


A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Sally on what promises to be a massive best seller!!! I WAS absolutely shocked by so many events and OMG the end twist was absolutely shocking!!! I can't say anything else but when you've read it you'll know!!! Welcome to my favourite author list Sally and here's to your next explosive success 🥂!!!


Overall an absolutely addictive, mind blowing page turner that will keep you up with a racing heart until you've finished!!!




Genres covered in this book include Crime Fiction, Classic British & Irish Fiction, Thriller, Police Procedurals, Serial Killer, Noir, Mystery, Assassination Thriller and Pulp Thriller amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Angela Marsons, Helen H Durrant, Rachel McClean and just anyone who is looking for a page turning addictive read!!!



261 pages.



This book is just £4.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@Bookworm86 @bookworm1986 @ZooLoosBT @SallyRigby4 @TopDrawerPress














Author Bio


Sally Rigby was born in Northampton, in the UK. She has always had the travel bug, and after living in both Manchester and London, eventually moved overseas. From 2001 she has lived with her family in New Zealand (apart from five years in Australia), which she considers to be the most beautiful place in the world.



After writing young adult fiction for many years, under a pen name, Sally decided to move into crime fiction. Her Cavendish & Walker series brings together two headstrong, and very different, women - DCI Whitney Walker, and forensic psychologist Dr Georgina Cavendish. Sally has a background in education, and has always loved crime fiction books, films and TV programmes. She has a particular fascination with the psychology of serial killers.


Social Media Links










Purchase Link














7 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page