top of page

'Blind House' by Jamie-Lee Brooke

Updated: Nov 2, 2022

Book Blurb


Fame is about to get deadly in this terrifying, fresh take on a haunted house thriller.



Set in an idyllic Cotswolds village, rookie paranormal investigator, Megan Forrest, is roped into investigating the strange goings-on at the home of Hollywood actor, Ross Huston.


Ross and his wife Deborah are convinced that their Victorian mansion is being haunted by the mentally ill patients who resided there in the late nineteenth century.


Patients who were brutally treated and murdered at the hands of a cruel doctor.


As Megan investigates ghosts from the past, two women from the present go missing- women who were last seen at the Huston’s property. Who was the doctor and how is everything connected?



When Megan finds herself swept up in a dangerous game, she can’t escape.


Who was the Doctor?


One thing she knows for sure, is that there is something watching her…



BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Blind House' by Jamie-Lee Brooke.


Read and reviewed for ZooLoos Book Tours, Spellbound Books and Jamie-Lee Brooke.


Publication date 31st October 2022.


This is Jamie-Lee Brooke's debut novel.


I was originally drawn to this book by its absolutely fantastic, eye-catching and unique cover and its intriguing synopsis. I'm also a major horror fan and have heard some fantastic things about this book!! I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Spellbound Books. I have yet to read a book published by Spellbound Books that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).



This novel consists of 53 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in Cotswolds, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 , UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.



This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist being Megan Forrest. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.



This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and kept me on the edge of my seat. The cover and synopsis suited the storyline perfectly.


OMG!!! ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS ACTION PACKED UNIQUE, CREEPY, PAGE TURNER!!!!


Wow!!! How on Earth is this your debut novel Jamie-Lee?? I actually had to go back and check as I just could not believe it!!! I am an absolutely HUGE horror fan and those based in mental institutions are my number one!! I have never actually read a book that has creeped me out so much but you actually managed it so genuinely a MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS!!! It may be the first book I have read by Jamie-Lee and the first she has written but I can promise you it won't be the last I read!!! I just need her to write more now and if this is anything to go by then her next book promises to be just as explosive!! I was absolutely addicted to this book from the attention grabbing and hair rausing first page to the completely shocking last!! My mouth just dropped open and the last few sentences, I just could not believe what I was reading!!! An absolutely mind blowing ending!! Jamie-Lee has managed to create such a unique storyline which is a an absolute pleasure to see!!! This book will keep you awake at every bump in the night and THAT ladies and gentlemen is what you call a successful horror!!


I absolutely love how Jamie-Lee ensures we see what was and is going on from in both the past and the present. I would absolutely LOVE to see this absolute page turner made into a series and I will definitely be jumping the queue to get a copy and OMG just imagine this is turned into a movie!!!!! Hell yes, I NEED to see that happen!!!! I can't remember the last time I read such a creepy, hair raising, explosive, pulse racing, action packed page turning horror.


DO NOT PICK THIS BOOK UP IN THE DARK AND MAKE SURE YOU GIVE YOURSELF PLENTY OF TIME BEFORE BED TO FINISH IT!!


The storyline is absolutely ram packed with mystery, gore, horror, tension, suspense and OMG the twist was just WOW!!! There is not a single negative thing I can think about this book and I always try to ensure I give constructive criticism but Jamie-Lee Brooks you absolutely SMASHED it in one!! Every single time I kept telling myself one more chapter the one I was in ended at a point where there was no way I could stop reading so I absolutely devoured it in one sitting!!


DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT READING THIS UNTIL YOU HAVE CLEARED YOUR SCHEDULES AS YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PUT IT DOWN!!!



It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


I wasn't just 100% invested in the storyline but also in the characters. Every single one of the characters were well defined, realistic and strong. I absolutely LOVED Megan who is absolutely kick a## as after everything she went through she was just so resilient and she kept on battling on!! I would love to meet her again along with some of the other characters if there will be a sequel. Hint hint Jamie-Lee 😉. These characters all worked perfectly with the storyline along with many of the others!!


A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Jamie-Lee Brooke on what promises to be a massive best seller!!! I WAS absolutely shocked mind blown by the twisted ending and the fact that you genuinely managed to scare me..... Just perfect 👌 Welcome to my favourite author list Jamie-Lee and here's to your next explosive success 🥂!!!


Overall an absolutely addictive, horror and gore filled, psychological, mind blowing page turner that will keep you up with a racing heart until you've finished!!!



Genres covered in this book include Psychological Thriller, Horror Fiction Classics, Thriller, Suspense, Debut Novel, Psychological Fiction, Teen & Young Adult Occult Fiction, Occult Horror and Horror Suspense amongst others.


266 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle and free on kindle unlimited via Amazon at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@Jamie_Lee_Brookes_Author @JamieLeeBrooke @Jamie_LeeBrooke @Bookworm86 @bookworm1986 @ZooLoosBT @SpellBoundBks @SpellboundBooks














Author Bio


Jamie-Lee Brooke is the pen name of Brooke Venables who lives with her twin sons in the Worcestershire area. She is an author of both horror and thrillers and works as a dental nurse which gives her plenty of scope to imagine putting people in uncomfortable situations. She loves her job and takes great satisfaction in helping people to smile.


Jamie-Lee’s biggest achievement to date is graduating after studying with the Open University for six years, achieving a BA Honours in Humanities with classical studies and creative writing. It was no mean feat whilst working and being a mum to twins who both have autism and learning difficulties.



Follow her at:









Purchase Link












22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page