top of page

'Blind Date' by Wendy Clarke

Updated: Nov 3, 2021


Book Description: When Mel is set up on a blind date by her best friends Chris and Simon, she’s as anxious as any woman would be. Her divorce came as such a shock and she’d been feeling lost and lonely, but that didn’t mean she was desperate to date again. It was a terrible day at work that made her say yes: it could be a bit of fun, a distraction at least. What did she have to lose? When Mel meets Malik, she knows instantly that they could have more than just a fling. She tells him her deepest, darkest secrets and it doesn’t make him run away. He makes her feel wanted for the first time in years, and when she wakes up in his bed in the early hours she feels completely content. Until she notices that he’s no longer lying beside her. She’s tangled up in his sheets alone in his bedroom and she can’t remember how she got there. And then she hears the metallic scrape of a key in the door and realises that Malik has locked her in. Is her dream man going to turn into her worst nightmare? Thrilling and gripping until the final page, Blind Date is a dark and unsettling story about deception and how much we can trust the people we love. For fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and anything by Lisa Jewell.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Blind Date' by Wendy Clarke.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Wendy Clarke, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 29th October 2021.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its stunning eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is perfect 'For fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and anything by Lisa Jewell.' I am a huge fan of 'Gone Girl' and Lisa Jewell so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 49 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the UK 🇬🇧. I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Mel. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


OMG!!! Wow!!! I was NOT expecting any of that!!! Wendy where have you been all my life?!?! Why and HOW have I never read any of your books before?!?



Well, well, well Wow!!! What an absolute cracker of a book!!! This book sucked me straight in from beginning to the explosive ending. It was very well written with excellent descriptions which put me straight into the storyline. The blog, title and the cover suited the book perfectly.


The storyline was very fast paced and filled with drama and suspense. A very believable storyline which kept me on edge throughout. I loved all the twists and turns and throughout it kept me guessing what was going on and who was doing what. I would NEVER have guessed at the ending so a MASSIVE WELL DONE to Wendy. I have read many thrillers and it's getting harder and harder for me to be surprised so great job there. There were so many mysteries in this book it just kept getting better and better!!! It was filled with suspense, romance, tension, friendship, lies and deceit and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout!!! If you pick this up make sure you clear your diaries as you will. NOT be able to put it down until the explosive ending!!! This is the first book I've read in a radio setting and it really did make me think of how we see radio presenters and how they may feel talking to us faceless people. It had a great, creepy atmosphere that was perfect to raise your heartbeat!! I loved the storyline and just loved everything about it. It was all done perfectly!! This would make an absolutely amazing movie!!!


THE characters were fantastic, solid and completely believable, or are they?? You just have no idea who to trust and wow was I blindsighted!! They each had their own unique personalities. You begin to think you know each one but you get proven wrong!!! I became completely invested in every character although I can't say I believed, trusted or liked any. Each character had their own secrets to hide and it really makes you think if you ever really know anyone. They all had such different and strong personalities and all suited the storyline perfectly.


Welcome to my favourite author list Wendy and congratulations on what is guaranteed to be a huge success!!! I can't wait to read more of your past and future books. In fact I'm going straight to Amazon to add them all to my wish list!!! Congratulations and here's to your next success 🥂!!


Overall a compelling, page turning, mind blowing psychological thriller that will keep you up late at night



Genres covered in this book include Thriller, Psychological Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Fiction and Crime Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and anything by Lisa Jewell.



332 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@WendyClarke @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86













Author Bio: Wendy Clarke was a teacher until the small primary school where she worked closed down. Now she is a writer of psychological suspense but is also well known for her short stories and serials which regularly appear in national women’s magazines. Wendy has two children and three step-children and lives with her husband, cat and step-dog in Sussex. When not writing, she is usually indulging in her passion for dancing, singing or watching any programme that involves food! https://wendyswritingnow.blogspot.com/

https://www.facebook.com/WendyClarkeAuthor/

https://www.instagram.com/wendyclarke99/

https://twitter.com/WendyClarke99



Buy Links:

Amazon: https://bit.ly/3m3EUlO

Apple: https://apple.co/2Vx1g4g

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3jpBXcs

Google: https://bit.ly/3Aai2VL

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page