top of page

Better The Devil by Wes Markin. Review



Book Description


Can you really put your trust in the Devil?


Matthew Brace. Six years old. Kidnapped.


Experienced and driven, Detective Chief Inspector Michael Yorke believes he has what it takes to lead a unit that will bring this child back to his family. But with crime in the South of England evolving at a rate never seen before, Yorke is caught short, and unable to stop the kidnapping becoming a devastating terrorist weapon that leaves the cathedral city of Salisbury shattered forever.


Ex-Detective Sergeant Jake Pettman. Experienced killer. Shrewd quarry.


Terrified father.


Knowing that the organised crime syndicate in the UK, Article SE, are responsible for the murder of his ex-wife, Jake returns home to protect his son. Hardened by his murderous experiences in New England, Jake resolves to stand against those that want him dead. Still, when facing up to a syndicate this powerful, you're going to need a miracle.


Or at least the coldest and most ruthless killer you know.


Lacey Ray may be a devil, but she's all he's got.


The seventh book in a series of procedural crime thrillers by bestselling writer Wes Markin. Better the Devil is perfect for fans of J.D Kirk, L.J Ross, Ian Rankin, Alex Smith, David Gatward, Rachel McLean and Ann Cleeves, among others.






BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Better The Devil' by Wes Markin



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Wes Markin and DLM Book Tours.



Publication date 12th June 2023


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'The seventh book in a series of procedural crime thrillers by bestselling writer Wes Markin. Better the Devil is perfect for fans of J.D Kirk, L.J Ross, Ian Rankin, Alex Smith, David Gatward, Rachel McLean and Ann Cleeves, among others'. I am a HUGE fan of Ann Cleeves and Rachel McLean and am looking forward to seeing if it lives I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being WFM Publishing. I have yet to read a book published by WFM Publishing that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book.


This novel consists of 24 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have in fact visited and holidayed in England on many occasions including this year and next year again so am looking forward to possibly recognising name places.



This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Detective Chief Inspector Michael Yorke, Lacey Ray, Dr Stewart Holden and Jake Pettman. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'Better The Devil' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Wes discusses/includes graphic violence, rape, torture, kidnapping of a child/ren and death of a child/ren



This book is fantastically written with vivid descriptions that absolutely grip the readers attention and puts them right in the middle of it all making your heart pound and you constantly second guessing.



OMG!!! I absolutely LOVED this gore filled, unique, suspense packed explosive page turner!!! Where the heck have you been all my life Wes!!!??!? I well and truly love, love, LOVED this book which had absolutely everything I could ask for in a psychological thriller!!! I would even go as far as saying this is the BEST book I have read this year and I am absolutely LANDED that there are 6 books that I can go back to and more to come in this amazing mind blowing series!!!! A huge success by Wes!! This may be the first book I have read by this fantastic author but it most certainly wil not be my last and I've already added all the rest of his books to my Amazon wish list. This book had me hook, line and sinker from the first page and I could not put it down!!! Every time I said one more chapter it ended on a cliffhanger and I just had to know what was going on!!! This kept on happened over and over until before I knew it I had devoured the whole book in one sitting!! If you are going to read this then clear your day because it is truly unputdownable. I started this this morning and finished it at approx 2pm, reading it in one sitting. The first chapter has got to be the most explosive one I have ever read and after reading that there is no way in hell anyone is putting the book down!!! Without giving too much away it includes a child, deaths and is absolutely explosive!! It gets more and more explosive and suspense filled throughout. Wes's evocative writing skills that has multiple perspectives as well as multiple timelines gives the reader the full picture. The book starts off with the explosive bombshell events with DCI Michael Yorke. We then move onto learning more about the serial killer and psychopath Lacey Ray who is under the care (or extreme lack of) of Dr Stewart Holden. The next 'player' we meet is Jake Pettman. Each of these characters have their own storylines but they all come together when Lacey and Jake team up to end Article SE's hunt for Jake so he can be reunited with his son Frankie and to bring Dr Stewart Holden down and to reunite Lacey with her 'son' Tobias. Jake isn't the only one trying to bring Article SE down and when character collide explosives are guaranteed. Dr Stewart also has his own agendas with his Victorian prison torture chamber which includes Vinnie the skinner and Keith the corpse rustler. I won't go into any more detail about them but I'm sure you can use your imagination!!! Every chapter has a fantastic title that gives you a tiny hint at what may happen but there's no way you'll be able to get the full extent!!! This book is horrific, violent, horrific and ram packed with absolute psychpaths!!! Not everyone's cup of tea maybe but it most certainly is mine and I am looking forward to the next book this extremely talented Wes is bringing out next which is called The Secret Diary Of Lacey Ray and is out in 2024. I will be counting down the days but I am definitely getting stuck into the rest book in this epic series while I am waiting!!! I have read hundreds of crime and psychological books but I have to say this has been one of the most unique, graphic, shocking and explosive ones I have ever read so a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Wes!!! It is getting harder and harder to shock me but your vivid imagination and evocative writing skills have completely blown my mind!!!! ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!!! Grab your copy and jump on the rollercoaster ride of gore, tension, murder, torture, suspense, revenge, torture and everything you could ask for in an epic page turner!!! Wes's fantastic and evocative writing skills ensures you are sucked into the storyline feeling your heart pounding and the hair on your arms raise. This book is rammed with suspense, action and tension and will keep you biting your nails, on the edge of your seat with your heart pounding while your flipping the pages because you just cant stop. I loved the fantastic ending that left me wanting to pick up more of Wes's books and get stuck straight in.


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


Absolutely LOVED this spine tingling, chilling, unique and action packed page turner that kept me on the edge of my seat throughout leaving me needing more!!!


Although this is the seventh book in the series I had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


This may be the first book I have read by this very talented author but it most certainly won't be the last and I cannot wait to get stuck into more of his previous and future books!!!


It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are. It is very important for me to bond with not only the lead protagonists but also any characters that may make repeat appearances during the series too.



The authors evocative writing skills brings each of the characters to life and leaves you feeling that you are standing next to them as their story unfolds and lives start to tumble around them. Each of the characters were realistic, well rounded and strong characters which makes it a realistic read. All the characters were strong and realistic as well as hiding their own secrets. I was completely invested in each and every one of them. Although many were flawed as well as unlikeable this made them all the more realistic!!! It is rare for me to become so invested in unlikeable characters but the storyline was so addictive i just could not put it down!!!! There were flaws, secrets and so much more you have no idea who to trust and what the truth really is!!! Lacey has for to be the biggest psychopath that I have ever had the pleasure to read about. I mean OMG just absolute BOOM!!! The only one that even comes close is 'her one'!!! One book filled with the biggest psychopaths I've ever met!!! Although she is a complete and utter case I was completely invested in her and I loved her realistic attitude and the fact that she knows what she's like and refuses to pretend she is anything else. She has absolutely no empathy, compassion, emotion or love. I cannot wait to read more of her past in the previous books in this series and get to know her even more. She is blunt, psychotic and confident, a woman I would not like to get on the wrong side of!!! I also loved DCI Michael York and Jake and although they aren't the biggest characters in this book I cannot wait to get back into their pasts and get to know them more too!!! And as for the doctor well jeez!!! Just grab your copy to meet my favourite psychos ever!!! I don't want to risk saying more about how I felt about the characters as I don't want to give anything away to future readers but I will say that I was annoyed, angry, upset, sickened, shocked, disappointed and so much more at the different ones for many different reasons!! Regardless of whether you love them or hate them they each played their parts perfectly!!!


A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS TO THE EXTREMELY TALENTED WES ON AN ABSOLUTELY AMAZING, EXPLOSIVE, UNIQUE AND GRIPPING PSYCHOTIC PAGE TURNING BOOK IN WHAT PROMISES TO BE AN ABSOLUTELY AMAZING SERIES. I CANNOT WAIT TO GO BACK AND READ ALL THE PREVIOUS BOOKS AND THEN ALL FUTURE BOOKS. WELCOME TO MY TOP 3 MALE AUTHOR LIST WES AND HERE IS TO YOUR NEXT GUARANTEED SUCCESS 🥂!!!!!!!


Overall one of the best and most unique books I have ever read filled with psychopaths, torture, bombshells and well what are you waiting for?? Grab your copy now!!!




Genres covered in this novel include Contemporary Urban Fiction, Men's Adventure Fiction, Urban Fiction, Adventure Fiction, Crime, Thriller & Mystery Adventures, Psychological Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Psychology Fiction, Police Procedural, Fiction Urban Life, Crime Action Fiction, Crime Fiction, Action Fiction, Crime and Literary Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of J.D Kirk, L.J Ross, Ian Rankin, Alex Smith, David Gatward, Rachel McLean, Ann Cleeves, and anyone who loves a book filled with suspense, horror and surprises!!



326 pages.



This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £9.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@BetterTheDevil @DCIYorkeThriller @WesMarkin @DLMBookTours @DonnasTours @WFMPublishing @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited













Author Bio



Wes Markin lives in Harrogate and is the bestselling author of the DCI Yorke crime novels set in Salisbury. He is also the author of the Jake Pettman series set in New England. You can find out more at facebook.com/wesmarkinauthor





Purchase Links









6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page