top of page

Bad Blood by Angela Marsons. Review


Book Description


The victim is lying under the trees, arms lifted above his head, unnaturally still. His muscles are slack. His eyes are empty. There are no signs of life. But he is not quite dead…


When Detective Kim Stone races to the crime scene, there is no body waiting for her: the paramedics are desperately trying to save the victim’s life. But there is something very strange about the way the man was found, his arms raised above his head, his legs spread apart. When he dies on the way to the hospital, Kim is certain she’s on the hunt for a killer… but all evidence at the scene has been destroyed.


The dead man, Eric Gould, seems ordinary, until the team dig into his past. As a teenager, he was locked away for attacking his girlfriend, and Kim suspects he was hurting his fiancé now. Was someone trying to stop history repeating?


Then another man is found on the verge of death, his bones broken to force him into an unnatural shape. The team realise the killer is sending a message – the victims’ bodies are spelling out their sins. As boys, they were both part of a group of six who bragged about their terrible crimes. But they were children then, and when she sees the grief on the faces of their loved ones now, Kim swears to find answers.


Is someone finally getting revenge… or do they think these men are still dangerous? The killer is threatening to strike again, and the only way Kim can crack the case is by tracking down the rest of the six first.


But then a revelation about what one of her team is suffering makes Kim understand why people take the law into their own hands. Do these victims deserve what’s coming to them? Or is there even more to fear from their brutal killer?


Unputdownable from start to finish, Bad Blood is a brilliantly gripping crime thriller with a reveal you’ll never see coming. Fans of Karin Slaughter, Robert Dugoni and Val McDermid will love the latest compulsive read from multi-million-copy bestseller Angela Marsons.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Bad Blood' by Angela Marsons.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Angela Marsons, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous



Publication date 15th November 2023.



This is the thirteenth book I have read by this author and it is the nineteenth book in the 'Detective Kim Stone' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read the first 7 books in the 'Detective Kim Stone' plus the fourteenth to eighteenth book which I loved and would recommend. Sadly I haven't had time to read from the 8th book until the fourteenth but will definitely be making time to as I LOVE KIM STONE!!!



This novel consists of 91 chapters. The chapters are short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



OMG!!! SHUT THE FRONT DOOR!!! WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO US ANGELA!!!! JUST WOW!!!! Seriously love, love LOVED this book!!!! Although, shouldn't be so shocked, it is Angela Marsons and Kim Stone after all!!!! Anyway, on with the review shall I....



Angela's style of writing is absolutely fantastic. She has a way in which she completely absorbs the reader into the book with vivid and graphic descriptions that have you completely lost in the plot. It is the type of book that when you finish you look around and wonder where you are and how is nobody else reacting to the bombshell that has just been dropped!!! The cover IS Kim Stone for me and the name and synopsis suited the plot perfectly.



Most heart racing, nail biting, actually stopped breathing book I've EVER read!!!! I mean how on earth do you do it Angela??? Every single book is more heart racing than the next and this has absolutely smashed it!!! This epic series is the best I have ever read. I mean nobody can beat Kim and the team!!



Angela kicks it out of the ballpark each and every single time!!! How can someone write so many epic, addictive and gritty books yet come up with unique storylines that shock the reader constantly!!! Angela is the absolute queen of crime and if you have never read any of her books then what on earth are you waiting for!!! You are seriously missing out!! The storyline is an absolute rollercoaster ride through a multi layered adventure park set in the world of horror, supernatural, medium and crime!!! There's never just one case with Angela but so much going on, not too much to get you confused but just the perfect amount to keep the pace continuous. The majority of chapters end on cliffhanger so keeps reader addicted and turning pages. Although this book is the 19th book in the epic Kim Stone series it can easily be read as a standalone. I haven't had time to read from books 7 until 14 and I cannot wait to get back to her previous books I never had any point felt I'd missed out something to do with the book. Anything that had been mentioned from previous cases were explained with just the right amount of information, not too much to bore those who have read every book and just enough so new readers know what's happened. The murders and crimes are unique and morbidly intriguing. I was on the edge of my seat, biting my nails whilst feeling my heart pounding into the silly hours of the morning as this is one book that cannot be put down so clear your diaries before picking it up. It fills you with all emotions from fear to laughter, tension to shock. I was not expecting that ending at all on both cases. I was absolutely speechless and actually shouted OMG to which my partner looked at me stupid!!! You would think there would be only so many ways to kill someone but Angela brings new ways to kill her characters of each and every time. If Angela ever decides to go rogue then lock your doors and hide as she has absolutely everything covered!!! The evocative descriptions and Angela's amazing writing skills with have you trying to work out the truth with Kim and Bryant while your heart is pounding throughout. My heart was in my throat the whole way through from the epilogue to the very last sentence. I just could not believe what I was reading. As always the last chapter had me absolutely gobsmacked and I absolutely LOVED IT!!! Well done Angela, I'm getting harder and harder to shock but you had me hook, line and sinker!!!! I seriously NEED to see these amazing books on the big screen!! I was absolutely LANDED to discover that these amazing books are actually going to be made into a series and I really cannot wait to see them and to read the next addition in my favourite series with my favourite characters ever!!! The fact that Angela always researches her topics and police procedurals absolutely shines through these books and I want to say a HUGE WELL DONE for that. I have read several books where it is sadly blatantly obvious where the author hasn't looked into their topics enough and it can absolutely destroy a book for me even when it has a good storyline. Anyway I'll end this here before it turns into an essay but read on to find out my opinion on the characters....



Although this is the nineteenth book in the series I would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


Why are you still reading this? Don't bother!!! The book is much better than any of my words can describe so cancel your plans, put the kettle on and get stuck in to this absolutely page turning must read now!!!


These characters have become like very close friends to me and each time I meet them it feels like I haven't been far from them for long. Kim and her fierce attitude, Bryant who is the angel (at times) on Kim's shoulders who (sometimes) manages to calm her down and make her see sense, the hatred for Tracy Frost and so much more. . It isn't all crime and sadness in Angela's books though and it had me giggling on several occasions which is brilliant considering it's a crime novel. I love it when authors put some comedy in these novels as it lightens it up at times and Kim's attitude really does make me smile and laugh out loud. My heart went out to Stacey in this particular book because of everything she was going through but to find out what that is you'll have to grab a copy yourself!! Angela creates fantastic team dynamics with memorable characters who work together brilliantly and perfectly. Each character is unique and has strong personalities and they just are completely unforgettable. Randomly, its always important for me to like the pathologist in any police procedurals and to click with them as much as the main police team. Their relationship with the main protagonist is also important to me as reader. In this case the pathologist is Keats and how I love the sarcasm between him and the team and his attitude. Stacey and Penn are also strong team members and I love how they work so well together and yet wind each other up constantly. Angela has brought these characters to life over this series and I have yet to meet a team and group of people I like so much. I genuinely miss them between books.




A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS ANGELA MARSONS!!! As always you have done the research and you have created what I can guarantee will be one of the best read books ever!! I hope your busy writing cause I cannot wait to get my hands on your next success!!! Seriously what are you waiting for guys??? Stop reading this and get your copy now!!!! This is exactly why you and this series are my favourite author and series!!! You are absolutely amazing and I hope you are busy on your next success because I'm missing the gang already!!!



Overall an absolutely amazing psychological thriller of epic proportions that will keep your heart pounding all night. This is one of the best books I have ever read!!!! An absolute MUST READ!!!


415 pages.



This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle and £9.99 in paperback via Amazon at time of review, which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I LOVE, LOVE, LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@BadBlood @DetectiveKimStone @AngelaMarsons @AngieMarsons @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger
















Author Bio



Angela Marsons is the Wall Street Journal and USA Today bestselling author of the DI Kim Stone series and her books have sold more than 5 million in 7 years.


She lives in Worcestershire with her partner and their 2 cheeky Golden Retrievers.


She first discovered her love of writing at Junior School when actual lessons came second to watching other people and quietly making up her own stories about them. Her report card invariably read "Angela would do well if she minded her own business as well as she minds other people's".


After years of writing relationship based stories (The Forgotten Woman and Dear Mother) Angela turned to Crime, fictionally speaking of course, and developed a character that refused to go away.


She is signed to Bookouture.com for a total of 28 books in the Kim Stone series and her books have been translated into 30 languages.


Many of her books, including Blood Lines, Dead Souls, Broken Bones, Fatal Promise and Dead Memories reached the #1 spot on Amazon on pre-orders alone and the translation of Dead Souls, La Verita Sepolte, recently won the prestigious Primo Bancarella award.




Sign up to Angela’s mailing list to get a free short story - an exclusive Detective Kim Stone short story: https://bookouture.com/angela-marsons



Purchase Links








5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page