top of page

'Another Woman's Child' by Kerry Fisher

Book Description: 


Could you take in your best friend’s child, even if it risked destroying your own family? Jo had thought that her life – and her heart - was full. With a busy job, a husband and a teenage daughter who is going off the rails, keeping her life running smoothly had already felt hard enough. But now Jo sits at the funeral of her best friend Ginny, crushed by the loss of a friendship that had endured for thirty years: from college and their first days at work through to settling down and raising their own children. Against her husband’s wishes, Jo has made a life-changing decision: to take in Ginny’s teenage son Victor and raise him as her own. Despite her misgivings, Jo feels she had no choice: Ginny was a single parent and Victor had no other family who could take care of him. But Victor’s arrival is about to break open the fragile cracks that were already forming on the surface of Jo’s family life and in her small rural community… and expose a secret that has remained hidden for many years, with devastating consequences. From the bestselling author of The Silent Wife and The Woman I Was Before, Another Woman’s Child is an unputdownable and heartbreaking read about the secrets we keep from our families, and the sacrifices we are willing to make for those we love. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.










BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'Another Woman's Child' by Kerry Fisher Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous This is the first book that I have read by this author and it most certainly won't be my last! I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing title & blurb and the fact that it was described as 'perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult'. I'm a massive Picoult fan so had to see if this as good as it lives up to. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of a prologue and 27 chapters which are a nice length so that you can read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! This book is written in first person perspective with the protagonist being Jo and it is set in the UK. I always enjoy reading books written in first person more as it feels like I'm sitting across the table from them while they are telling their story or in the book next to them. I LOVE the fact that a small part of the book is set in Cardiff being a Welsh girl myself! This book was written beautifully and flowed nicely throughout. I was NOT expecting the mega twist half way through! Nothing worse than knowing what's coming before your even half way through a book! The way it was written made me feel like I was right next to Jo and going through it with her. I was hooked from the very first page and could not put it down. I am pleased to say that the 'perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult' was completely accurate and I would even go as far as to say that judging by this book Kerry Fisher is definitely on par with her. This is a huge compliment from me as Jodi Picoult has been in my top 5 authors list for a very long time!! I believe another author has just been added. Well done Kerry Fisher. A complete success and I'm looking forward to reading more of your books. I felt the plot itself was quite unique and I haven't read a story with the same or similar one. The characters were fantastic!! Very strong, well rounded and believable. I loved how Jo's character strengthened and developed throughout and went from being very insecure to standing up to what she believed in. When she was insecure she reminded me very much of myself not that long ago holding onto toxic friendships. The plot is filled with loss, racism, friendships, secrets, love and about an every day family going through everything thrown against them and still managing to unite. I love it! Overall a perfect summer read and a new author to add to my favourite list. Genres covered include literary fiction and chick lit. I would recommend this book to fans of the above and definitely fans of Jodi Picoult and anyone looking for an excellent page turner. 310 pages. This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED IT ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews #AnotherWomansChild #KerryFisher #Bookouture #NetGalley #BookReview #BlogTour #BooksOnTour @KerryFisher @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86 https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R








Author Bio:


Kerry Fisher is a million-copy bestselling author. She writes women's contemporary fiction, is a USA Today bestseller and her books have been translated into twelve languages. She was born in Peterborough, studied French and Italian at the University of Bath and spent several years living in Spain, Italy and Corsica. After returning to England to work as a journalist, she eventually abandoned real life stories for the secrets of fictional families. She lives in Surrey with her husband, and a naughty Lab/Schnauzer called Poppy, who joins in the huge dances of joy when her young adult children come home.






Buy Links: 


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page