top of page

Always The Bridesmaid by Laura Carter. Review

Book Description


A cheeky chappy comedian


Charlie is most comfortable playing the funny man in front of boisterous crowds in London’s comedy

clubs. But he’s about to be swapping his routine for wedding speeches. And his new acquaintance

Sarah, thinks he is anything but amusing.


The woman who’s got it covered.


Weddings are always a difficult time for widower Sarah, but you would never tell – she’s too focused

on making the week of her best friends’ wedding as perfect as possible. She definitely has no time

for the grumpy and surly Charlie, who it's clear her friends are trying to set her up with.


And only one room left at the rental...


When a drunken invitation adds more people to the pre-wedding holiday house than Sarah organized

for, she finds herself spending A LOT more time with Charlie than she intended. If only they could

both let their guards down, they might find they have more in common than they think




BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Always The Bridesmaid' by Laura Carter.




Read and reviewed for Laura Carter, Boldwood Books, Book & Tonic, NetGalley and Rachel's Random Resources Tours.




Publication date 17th November 2023.



This is the second book I have read by this author and I cannot wait to read the rest! It is also the fourth book in her 'Brits In Manhattan' series but can be read as a standalone. I have also read 'Friends With Benefits' which is the third book in this series and I would highly recommend it!!



This novel consists of 33 chapters. The chapters are short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!




This book has fantastic descriptions that set you straight in the scenes. The cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.



Another page turninf, addictive success by Laura!!! Love, LOVE, LOVED this absolutely beautiful page turner!! An absolute must read!!!



OMG!! I absolutely LOVED this gorgeous storyline An absolutely stunning book that takes you on a rollercoaster ride of emotions. This is a story filled with friendship, laughter, romance, family and just everything you could want in a gorgeous page turner!!! I was completely invested in this book from the very first page and was hooked throughout. I just could not put it down and ended up devouring it in one sitting!! Laura's stunning evocative writing skills really do bring the locations, emotions and the characters to life!! This is one of those books that is very easy to read and perfect for any reading situations whether you are laying on a beach or curled up in front of a fire. It is an absolutely ideal read for anyone who is looking for a beautiful and heart warming read that will have you hooked from beginning to end. I absolutely LOVED the realism of this storyline which made it so easy to picture everything that was going on which had been helped by Laura's fantastic evocative writing skills. I cannot wait to get hooked into more of her books so I hope she is busy writing her one while I get stuck into her previous books!! This is definitely one of those books that will turn a frown upside down and make life seem a lot brighter. I love that we get to meet several characters from the previous books in this one as they all reunite for Jess and Jake's wedding in Surrey, England. I absolutely loved meeting so many old faces again and I'll go into more details about the main characters later but so it doesn't turn into a book itself I will just discuss the main ones this book revolves around but I wanted to give the previous ones a quick mention and that it was like bumping into old friends again!!! Anyway, I just adored everything about this absolutely gorgeous page turner from the first sentence to the last. Well done Laura on yet another stunner and I cannot wait until your next!!!



Although this is the fourth book in the series I had absolutely no problems reading it without all of the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


Well done Laura on an yet another absolutely beautiful book!!! If you haven't read any of Laura's books then what on Earth are you waiting for?!?!?



The characters were all an eclectic mix and each one of them were realistic and strong. I was completely invested in them all. It also makes them more realistic, believable and made me feel even more for them than I normally would. I absolutely adored Charlie's cute down to Earth personality and that he is nothing like what you may assume he would be. He is a genuine, adorable guy who actually enjoys romances and takes Sarah on a tour of London to help her smile, laugh and rediscover herself. I mean I would love a Charlie myself!!! We need more Charlie's in life!!! I also loved Sarah who is also genuine and sweet. She is one of those rare people who will go above and beyond to help others but that hasn't always helped her in life. These two are both such amazing people and I was rooting for them from the very second I met them!! Their personalities and characters seem to be complete opposites but they do say opposites attract. Will that be the case in this stunning storyline? Well what are you waiting for? Grab your copy and find out today and trust me you will read this in less than a day as you will not be able to put it down!!! I loved getting to know all the characters and I could write about them all day but I don't want to bore you so I'll start to wrap it up here. Each of the characters are memorable and unique in their own ways and they are a group that I wont be forgetting any time soon! A stunning rom com and an amazing group of unforgettable characters!!!



Pick up this book and get lost in this absolutely gorgeous page turner! This has got to be one of the most heartwarming books I have ever read 💜!!!




Congratulations Laura on yet another absolutely stunning read that I just could not put down!!! I am looking forward to reading more of your previous and future books. I would absolutely love to see this book turned into a movie!!! This is the exact reason you are on my favourite author list and here's to your next success 🥂




Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first chapter of Laura's 'Two To Tango' which is the second book in this series and promises to be just as gorgeous as this book. It is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!




Overall an unputdownable, gorgeous, STUNNING page turning book filled with romance, friendship , laughter and so much more!! A gorgeous, romantic, funny and stunning read!!!!




294 pages.




This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £9.99 in paperback at time of review via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!




Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.




Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.









@AlwaysTheBridesmaid @LauraCarter @LCarterAuthor @BritsInManhattan @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @BoldwoodBooks @theboldbookclub @BoldwoodBloggers @BookAndTonic @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnimited @Netgalley



















Author Bio


Laura Carter writes romance and women's fiction with a romantic slant. Exploring everyday

relationships and getting under the skin of her characters is her passion. She takes inspiration from

everything she overhears in cafés, so be wary of that strange woman 'listening' to music next time

you're chatting over coffee. Laura lives with her family in Jersey, Channel Islands.



Social Media Links







Purchase Link






1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page