top of page

Always Beth by Louise Hudson. Review



Book Description


She missed out on her happily ever after.


He’s not sure if he deserves one.


Sometimes, fate needs a helping hand...


Bethany Cross is ready for the mother of all fresh starts. No more self-sacrifice. No more city smog.

And definitely no more lying, cheating ex-husbands who make divorce proceedings an actual living

hell. Instead: Cotswolds. Country air. Candle making.


But when her Yorkshire Terrier, Poppy, makes the “acquaintance” of a rather virile Dachshund, the

irritatingly handsome barrister attached to him makes Beth’s newly simple life...complicated.


James Taylor has ditched the courtroom for the countryside while he cares for his terminally ill sister.

When a prickly, flame-haired, and newly single Londoner moves into the Taylors’ rental cottage, she

looks like just the distraction James needs. But each encounter is an escape that only amplifies just

how much he’s about to lose.


As Beth’s walls of caution start to crumble under James’ touch, past scars threaten to engulf the first

sparks of chemistry. And when reality catches up with them, both must find a way forward — even

when the future seems unbearable.


Always Beth is a dual first person POV, open door romance, featuring a swoonworthy MMC,

bittersweet family ties and a HEA.






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Always Beth' by Louise Hudson.


Read and reviewed for Louise Hudson, Mounter Press and Rachel's Random Resources Tours.


Publication date 23rd May 2023.


This is Louise's debut novel.


This book is set in the Cotswolds, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have visited and holidayed in England, including the Cotswolds, on many occasions so am intrigued to see if I recognize any areas mentioned.


This novel consists of a prologue and 30 chapters.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonists are Lauren Taylor, Bethany Cross and James Taylor. The benefits of books written in first person perspective with multiple protagonists are, as long as they are well written, it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


'Always Beth' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Louise discusses/includes strong language, sexual scenes,terminal illness (cancer)/ death of a sibling and divorce.


Well blooming heck Louise if this is your debut novel then God help the world of books when you bring your next book out!!! You absolutely blew it out of the ball park!!! Genuine this has got to be one of the BEST debut novels I have ever read!!!


Louise you lady have some talent!!! To create such an emotional, page turning EPIC masterpiece with your FIRST book just what on Earth are you going to come out with next!!!! This book is an absolutely rocking rollercoaster of emotions so grab the tissues ladies and gents because you WILL need them. Oh and make sure you clear your schedules at the same time as you are NOT going to be able to put this book down!!! It has got absolutely everything you could ever want in a romantic page turner including hot steamy sex, passion, love, family, laughter, tears, happiness,heartbreak, hunks, babes and yep Louise has even chucked some four legged friends in there too who are even at it themselves!!!! Beth has moved out of London to get away from her absolute Ahole an ex and moved to the stunning Cotswold into a lovely cottage rented out by Lauren. Beth has sworn off men, is trying to get her divorce sorted, burning the candle at both ends (literally), trying to keep her head down but at the same time needs some passion in her life. Beth has a terminal illness and hasn't got long to live so her brother James has come up from London to help her and spend time with her. James is a typical man whre who has constantly got sex on the mind but does not want to settle down and needs to put Lauren first. While out walking his sister's dog that she calls Richard and he calls Dick , and to be honest after knowing a Richard I think Dick is a perfect replacement Dick literally bumps into Beth's dog Poppy and well let's just call it Puppy Love. Beth thinks James is a typical man, full of himself and irritating and is looking forward to see the back of him, literally. However, at the same time she has some passionate thoughts about him and could use some relief. James loves Beth's feisty attitude and finds his mind wandering thinking of her but he is determined to not get distracted and concentrate on his sister Lauren. I mean I could literally go on and on but I don't want to give the story away. Louise had me absolutely howling with laughter with some of the innuendos and comments on minute and bawling my eyes out the next!!!


This book is perfectly written with vivid descriptions setting the picture perfectly in the readers mind. The title, description and cover works perfectly with the storyline. It is one of those books that are very easy to read and perfect for any reading situations whether you are laying on a beach or curled up in front of a fire. It is sexy, page turning, and completely addictive!!!



Louise's amazing and evocative writing skills leaves the reader feeling the fresh air of the Cotswolds, the freezing water while wild swimming, your heart racing and tears streaming down your face. I absolutely adore the fact that she has Poppy and Dick as quite large characters as I am a HUGE animal lover and I adore seeing animals play such a big part in books and they had hilarious personalities themselves!!! I absolutely LOVED the relationship between James and Lauren which was just serious brother/sister goals!!! Honestly it was so sweet to see how much they loved and looked after and out for each other!!! I also loved watching the relationship between Beth and James grow and loved the hilarious situations they were getting themselves in and conversations they were having. I mean 'I'm sorry my Dick touched your flower' just honestly!!!! I don't think I've ever quoted as many parts of a book to my partner as I did with this one as I just had to share the hilarious moments with him!!!


I loved the banter, loved the relationships, loved the book, love the author and just LOVE IT ALL!!! I just haven't got the words to cover how amazing this book actually is so I'm just going to tell you to grab your copy today and get ready to laugh, cry, smile and feel good. I just could not put it down and absolutely demolished it in a few hours. I kept telling myself I would just finish the chapter but then that would end and I would say OK maybe one more, then another and another and before I knew it I had devastatingly reached the end and seriously need more Louise!!! I mean these are characters that are so alive, realistic, strong and I just HAVE to meet them again so PLEASE turn this into a series as I need to see more of them!!!!! This book also NEEDS to be made into a movie which I would definitely stay up all night to ensure I'm the first in line for tickets!!


Louise you have got TALENT and I need to see more of your books, like now!!!!! Welcome to my favourite author club and here is to this and your next absolutely amazing success 🥂


At this point I normally tell you more about the characters but I have just realised that I have practically written an essay and if you have gotten this far then


A) Why are you still reading this and not just gone out,grabbed your copy and got stuck in?


B) Thank you for not falling asleep yet!!


Anyway I am definitely going to have to wrap this up as I could just go on and on about how much I loved this book and need more but I really am going to have finish as I'm sure I've probably reached my word limit for reviews!!!!


Thank you Louise for making my day reading this book, I cannot remember when a book made me laugh out loud so much!!! When you become a world's best seller remember how much I loved your book first 😂!!! Keep on doing what you are doing and please do it soon as I NEED to read more from you!!!!


Clear your schedules, grab the tissues and get ready to be sucked in to one of the best, sexiest, funniest and just AMAZING romance books ever!!!!!



Overall one of the BEST romance books I have ever read, it has everything you could ask for and more and you just won't be able to put it down!



Genres covered in this book include Contemporary Romance Fiction, Contemporary Women Fiction, Women's Romance Fiction, Women's Contemporary Fiction, Literary Fiction, Romance Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Women Writers And Fiction and Contemporary Romance amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Sophie Kinsella, Sariah Wilson, Lindsey Kelk, Abby Jiminez Emily Henry, Mhairi McFarlane and Sophie Kinsella and just anyone looking for a great read!! You, your friends, neighbours,family, dogs, guinea pigs just EVERYONE NEEDS THIS BOOK IN THEIR LIVES!!



308 pages.


This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £10.99 in paperback via Amazon, at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@AlwaysBeth @LouiseHudson @MounterPress @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited
















Author Bio


Louise Hudson adores all things romance, from musicals, to films and most importantly

books. Her kindle is permanently by her side so she can steal every spare opportunity to catch up on

reading. Having discovered her love of storytelling at a young age, she decided it was now time to

start sharing her characters with the world. Her debut novel, Always Beth, is due for release in the

Spring of 2023.

She lives in the southeast of England with her family and miniature bearded dragon.




Social Media Links


Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/louisehudsonauthor/


Website – www.louisehudsonauthor.com

Facebooks- https://www.facebook.com/lhudsonauthor


Twitter - https://twitter.com/lhudsonauthor



Purchase Link





17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comentarios

Obtuvo 0 de 5 estrellas.
Aún no hay calificaciones

Agrega una calificación
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page