top of page

After The Sleepover by Kerry Wilkinson. Review


Book Description:


Gone. They’re gone.” Dylan’s wide-eyed mother bites her nails in desperation. “All three kids. They wanted to sleep outside. But I went to check this morning and… the tents are empty. They’re gone.”


Twenty-five years ago: teenage Leah had a sleepover with her three best friends. By morning, the other girls were missing. This small town has been searching for answers ever since. Now it’s happened again…


Three boys decide to camp in a field next to one of their homes. When dawn comes, dew glistens on their empty tents.


Overgrown farmland is searched. Three distraught families are desperate for news. A mother herself now, Leah’s heart breaks as terrible memories flood back…


Leah thought she knew what happened at the sleepover years ago but now another three children are missing. What if she was wrong? And how far will Leah have to go, to finally discover the truth, before it’s too late?


A completely addictive psychological thriller packed with twists, that will have you up all night racing through the pages. After the Sleepover can be enjoyed as a standalone read, and anyone who loves Shari Lapena, Lisa Jewell, or The Perfect Marriage won’t be able to put it down.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW 


Review for 'After The Sleepover' by Kerry Wilkinson. 


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Kerry Wilkinson, Bookouture publishers, Bookouture Audio and Bookouture anonymous 


Publication date 15th December 2023.


This is the ninth book I have read by this author. It is also the second book in 'The Sleepover'' series. I have previously read 'The Child Across The Street', 'The Party At Number 12' and 'The Child In The Photo', 'Truly, Madly Amy', 'The Boyfriend', 'The Ones Who Are Hidden', 'The One Who Fell' and 'The Night Of The Sleepover' (book 1 in this series) which I would also recommend reading. It is also the second book in 'The Sleepover' series



This novel consists of a prologue, 41 chapters and an epilogue and is set over 2 parts. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



Well, well, well Wow!!! Yet again another absolute cracker of a book by an extremely talented author!!! After reading 'The Night Of The Sleepover' which is the first book in this series I couldn't wait to get stuck into this one and see where Kerry was going to go with this one. Well, one things for sure he didn't let us down!! This book sucked me straight in from beginning to the explosive ending. It was very well written with excellent descriptions which put me straight into the storyline. The blog and the cover suited the book perfectly. 


An absolutely perfect start to an addictive and edplosive series!!! 


This is yet another absolutely fantastic page turner by the extremely talented Kerry. Kerry's evocative writing skills really brings the story to life. This was helped by Olivia Darnley's brilliant narration of the audiobook that I listened to. I was pleased to see Olivia was also narrating This book after she did a fantastic job with the first book in this series. In the first book Leah's friends went missing after a sleepover 15 years prior and one of the missing girls brothers wanted to do a documentary to commemorate the disappearance. Leah and myself thought we had found out what had happened after the explosive ending of 'The Night Of The Sleepover'. We finally thought we had the answers. In this book, 25 years after the girls disappearance 3 boys go missing after camping in a field nearby. There are more distressed families, questions re asked, minds blown and so much more in this action packed addition to 'The Night Of The Sleepover'!! If you loved 'The Night If The Sleepover' then get your hands on this epic page turner because you will not regret it!!!

This is another locked room mystery with only a small number of characters who could know the truth. I absolutely love locked room mysteries, especially if they are done well, because they make you look even closer at each of the characters than you normally would. As always with Kerry, his storytelling is addictive and filled with suspense, tension, mystery and everything you could ask for in a fantastic page turner!! I loved all the twists and turns and throughout it kept me guessing what was going on and who was doing what. I would NEVER have guessed at the ending so a MASSIVE WELL DONE to Kerry especially considering I have read the first book I thought I may be able to work it out this time. I was proved wrong, do NOT tell my partner!! I have read many books and it's getting harder and harder for me to be surprised so great job there. I loved the storyline and just loved everything about it. It was all done perfectly!! An absolutely addictive page turner that kept my heart in my throat on the edge of the seat and absolutely absorbed me. The fact there were so many different red herrings and so many possibilities that all would have worked perfectly  I could not put this book down!!! I was so invested in the storyline that I just could not sleep until I finished it!!


Although this is the second book in the series I would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the first book. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


WARNING ⚠ DO NOT START THIS UNTIL YOU HAVE CLEARED YOUR SCHEDULES AS THIS BOOK IS ADDICTIVE!!!! 


As with 'The Night Or The Sleepover' I also listened to this one on audiobook. If I listen to a book on audiobook I usually also read the physical book between but I listened to the whole book and I was impressed! I must say a HUGE congratulations to the narrator Olivia Darnley who did a great job bringing this story to life. I would listen to it in the car and while walking at any opportunity and Olivia did a fantastic job on both male and female characters voices!!! I'm not only looking forward to reading more books by Kerry but also to listening to more books narrated by Olivia!


Kerry's fantastic evocative writing skills and Olivia's brilliant narrative brought each and every one of them to life and it felt like you were standing next to them throughout. With a small cast of suspects you are left with no idea who you can trust and if any of them are telling the truth especially when you start discovering they each have something to hide. When it came to what actually happened there was no chance I would have ever worked it out so well done Kerry!!! They all had such different and strong personalities and all suited the storyline perfectly.. There were such a mix of personalities and its hard really to say too much about any of them without giving too much away!!! Regardless of whether you liked, loved or disliked any of the characters they all work perfectly together to bring this story to life. I cannot wait to see who will return in the next book in this series!! A great cast of characters that come to life thanks to Kerry's extremely evocative writing talent!!



YET ANOTHER CONGRATULATIONS KERRY ON YET ANOTHER ABSOLUTELY ADDICTIVE PAGE TURNER!!!! AN ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC ADDITION TO A PAGE TURNING AND ADDICTIVE SERIES!! THIS IS EXACTLY WHY YOU ARE ONE OF MY TOP 5 MALE AUTHORS!!! HERE'S TO YOUR NEXT SUCCESS 🥂 


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and first chapter of Kerry's 'What My Husband Did' which promises to be just as gripping as this book and is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!!


Overall a compelling, addictive, action packed and fantastic addition to an explosive page turning series by thi amazing author! 



356 pages/ 9 hours and 18 minutes.


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon, free with kindle unlimited, £8.99 in paperback and £16 for the audiobook (at time of review) which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 



@AfterTheSleepover @TheSleepover @KerryWilkinson @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited @BookoutureAudio @Audible @Audiobook @OliviaDarnley



  



 






Author Bio:


Kerry Wilkinson is from the English county of Somerset but has spent far too long living in the north. It’s there that he’s picked up possibly made-up regional words like ‘barm’ and ‘ginnel’. He pretends to know what they mean.



He’s also been busy since turning thirty: his Jessica Daniel crime series has sold more than a million copies in the UK; he has written a fantasy-adventure trilogy for young adults; a second crime series featuring private investigator Andrew Hunter and the standalone thriller, Down Among The Dead Men.




Social Media Links





Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Kerry Wilkinson herehttps://www.bookouture.com/kerry-wilkinson




Purchase Links:




Audio:





You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo






6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page