top of page

Adventures About To Begin by Allen Therisa. Review

Updated: Aug 24, 2023


Book Description


After the death of his grandfather, Noah’s life is thrown into chaos as he faces a repressed past which threatens everything he believes to be true. In the course of trying to come to terms with his loss, Noah must also navigate a difficult relationship with his sister, Kelly, as they reflect on their turbulent childhood – when they were taken from London to live in the Kent countryside following the breakdown of their parents’ marriage.


Set between the 1970s and the more recent past, Adventures About To Begin chronicles a collapsing marriage as experienced by its children and reflects on how memory shapes our decisions at crucial junctures during our lives.


It is both funny and touching, as well as a sensitive insight into British family life during a period of great social and cultural change.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Adventures About To Begin' by Allen Therisa.



Read and reviewed for Allen Therisa, NetGalley, Book Guild Publishing and Zooloo's Book Tours.



Publication date 28th February 2023.



This is the Allen's debut novel which I am absolutely mind blown by!!! If he has come out with this as his debut I cannot wait to see what he has up his sleeve for his next success!!!



This novel consists of 50 chapters and 'Noah's Cultural Appendix'. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



The storyline itself was absolutely unputdownable so make sure you clear your schedules before starting to read it!!



An absolutely fantastic family drama filled with history, relationship, family, love, secrets, disappointments, friendships and so, so much more!!! I loved getting to know Noah, Kelly and the rest of the family, friends and distant relatives. There is constantly drama going on and things happening which keeps you turning the pages. I loved that it goes from the present to the past and learning the history of the family along with what was going on at the time which was intriguing and I enjoyed learning lots of interesting facts about places and history. There were moments of laughter, sadness, anger, denial and loads more on this rollercoaster ride from the 70's when Noah and Kelly were children to present day when they are adults. The only downfall I found is that there was a mystery surrounding Beverly which Noah discovered but it is never revealed to the reader. This is the only reason that I feel I have to give this book a 4.5/5 rather than a full 5/5 although I will be rounding it up to a 5 on Goodreads and Amazon. The storyline is intriguing, thought provoking, fun and emotional and I would definitely recommend it to anyone and everyone!!! I would also highly recommend you read Noah's cultural appendix at the back!! I will be honest and say I wasn't going to bother reading it but I had a glance and ended up reading it all as I found several explanations that made me laugh so it is definitely worth a read!!! I enjoyed the fact that Allen hasn't edited things out due to political correctness and he includes words and things that they would have said in that time even though it would be classed as unacceptable in the present times but it is good to see history written as it was. I really did enjoy this book and would absolutely love to see another book made to make this a series as it ended in the past and I really would enjoy reading more about what the family got up to when they moved, what happened and see how all the characters ended up and who they ended up with as I was left with a few questions about some of them. I devoured this book in a few hours as it is one of those that I just could not put down. there were so many times that I told myself that I would just finish the one chapter and then go back to it but that chapter ended in a way that I could not put it down and then the next one did and then the next and so on until I came to very last page. I would absolutely love to see this beauty turned into a movie and I will be at the front of the queue to go and see it!! Allen's writing skills will absolutely absorb you into the book.


Grab your copy of this addictive, intriguing and action packed family drama today. You won't regret it!!!


The characters were all an eclectic mix and each one of them were realistic and strong. I was completely in them all and I already miss most of them even though I have just closed the pages. I really enjoyed getting to know them all and I felt differently about them all. Noah was the main story teller and made me laugh on several occasions. I also felt sorry in him as he struggled with his sexuality, his father, his Nan and other life problems. His sister Kelly was a typical older sister and loved to wind him up but it was lovely to see how close they were and now again you can see how much they loved and looked out for each other. Noah's Nan and Dad were both horrible people and Mark who we meet towards the end crept me out. I liked his Mum who I also felt sorry for and his Grandad made me laugh with his larger than life attitude although some of the things he came out with were definitely not PC but also true to the generation. Personally, I was very pleased to see a book and author brave enough to write things that would have been said at the time as I think it's ridiculous how everyone needs to step on eggshells at the moment with what they say and write. Allen's fantastic writing skills and evocative descriptions really brought all of the characters to life and I would love to see another book brought out following on from this one to see what they all got up to next!!

The majority of the characters are an absolutely great gang of characters who will stay with me for a long time and I really hope I would love to meet then again soon and see where each of their lives take them, hint hint Allen😉!! Fantastic and realistic family dynamics that I really enjoyed getting to know. Regardless of how you feel about them all they work perfectly to create a fantastic storyline!!





Overall a compelling and intriguing family drama that takes you back in time.



352 pages.



This book is just £3.99 to purchase on kindle and £8.21 in paperback, at time of review, via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 4.5/5 rounded up 5/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.




@AdventuresAboutToBegin @AllenTherisa @BookGuildPublishing @ZooLoosBT @ZooloosBookTours @Bookworm1986 @BooksOnTour @BlogTour @BookReview @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @NetGalley



















Author Bio


Aside from writing fiction, Allen Therisa also writes for blogs on everything from popular culture to politics, outside of his working life in the world of social media and website design. Adventures About To Begin is his debut novel.



Social Media Links









Purchase Link










15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page