top of page

Adrift by M.A Hunter. Review


Book Description


A stag do, six old friends … and a secret they’d all kill to protect.


When Pete and his friends set sail on a private yacht in the Balearics to celebrate Fergus’ upcoming wedding, they’re all looking forward to sun, sea and copious quantities of alcohol.


But there’s a reason they are still entwined in each other’s lives a decade after leaving university. A terrible event they’ve all been trying their hardest to forget.


They say you can’t outrun the past … And these six friends are about to find that out the hard way.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW 


Review for 'Adrift' by M.A Hunter 


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for M. A Hunter, Boldwood Books and Rachel's Random resources Tours. 


Publication date 4th May 2023

HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY!!!


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Boldwood. I have yet to read a book published by Boldwood that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 42 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!

 

This book is written in first person perspective with the main protagonist being Pete. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. 


'Adrift' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book MA Hunter discusses r@p3


WHAT did I just read!!!! WOW!!! I mean seriously Wow!! I was NOT expecting that lot fair play!!! This has GOT to start with a MASSIVE WELL DONE STEPHEN !!!! An absolutely action packed thriller!! 


Firstly let's start off with the writing style!! This book is an extremely well written book by this amazing author which had me hook line and sinker!!! It is so smoothly and exceptionally well written with vivid descriptions I completely forgot I was even reading a book a few times. The blurb, title and cover really fit the storyline. Stephen has created an absolutely explosive and addictive storyline that had me hooked from the gripping first chapter to the absolutely shocking ending!!!  


As you can tell I LOVED the storyline. I found it to be realistic, very fast paced and I read it in just several hours!!! I loved the setting and atmosphere and just well... Everything!!! Twists after shocks after turns!!! Arggghhh... Its so hard to NOT say anything about them as it will give too much away and spoil it for future readers but it definitely left me speechless over and over!!! I have read hundreds of psychological books and it gets harder and harder to keep my interest and to shock me but these fantastic authors managed it hook, line and sinker Just brilliant fair play and all links in and wraps up perfectly!!! Pete is invited on a stag night with university friends, some of which he has barely spoken with, if at all, since leaving 10 years ago when they were all involved in something they vow never to speak of again. They have hired a private boat and are planning on having a fun and relaxing time in the Balearics. However things start going downhill quickly and is far from the fun time previously planned. Stephen has done an absolutely amazing job of weaving the past and present chapters together in a way to give the reader just the right amount of detail to drop feed them the history between them needed but not too much to give anything away. I absolutely loved the unique storyline and have yet to read a book based on either a stag night or on a yacht and considering the hundred of books I have read this is a MASSIVE achievement so a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS STEPHEN on achieving a storyline I have had yet to uncover!! 


MA Hunter leads the readers up to some extremely explosive twists that I woiuld never have seen coming. I cannot remember the last time I flew through a book so quickly. Each and every time I went to put it down to do something my fingers were itching to pick it back up as I just HAD to know what happened next!! MA's evocative writing skills ensure you are sucked deep into the storyline seeing everything that is happening and feeling the tension, stress and suspense that each of the main characters are going through. My heart was in my throat throughout reading this fast paced, gripping and gritty psychological thriller! I loved the amount of gory details that was involved in some of the events!! Many people won't agree with me here but I love it when an author creates unique ways of certain events and MA Hunter includes just the right amount of gore and definitely uniqueness in some of the ones involved in this book!! This may be the first book I have read by this amazing authors but if all his books are like this I cannot wait to get stuck into them and I have added all his previous books to my wish list already and look forward to what they come out with next!! It is ram packed with friendship, secrets, lies, twists, heartbreak, twists, abuse, history , tension, stress, suspense and everything you could ask for in a psychological thriller. I can't say more than that as I don't want to spoil it for future readers so if you want to know you'll have to grab yourself a copy!! You won't regret it!! 


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture


Just like with the storyline the characters come to life with Stephen's fantastic writing skills. They are well rounded, realistic and strong making them all the more believable. It is going to be extremely hard for me to say too much about the characters as I really don't want to give too much away and due to there only being a limited amount of suspects it is way too easy to slip up. All the characters had their own unique personalities and I enjoyed watching the differences in their personalities from their younger selves to how they acted in the present but at the same time most of them had similar aspects to their personalities. At one point of the book I did suspect the majority of the characters and I think only one or two I didn't think had anything to do with any of it. I was kind blown when everything came out. There were some things I both liked and disliked about the majority of them. However the one character I really couldn't abide from the start is the creepy Raymond who absolutely made me cringe!! I found Pete to be quite a good friend but at times a bit of a wimp and not doing what he told himself he would. I thought Harry was a really sweet friend to Pete and I thought it was cute how he calls him bro. I disliked Christoph in the past segments but he slowly grew on me on the present chapters. My heart went out to Sophie but at the same time I found her to be a bit bossy at times. I thought Rhys could be a bit of a child and didn't tend to think before he did or spoke. Fergus was a bit of a mixed bag and at times I liked him and others I thought he was a bit two faced. I won't go into more details as I don't want to risk giving anything away but Stephen really has done an exceptional job constructing an addictive and explosive psychological thriller with fantastic and varied characters that you just won't be able to put down!! Regardless of whether you loved or hated them they each worked perfectly together to create this chilling and nail biting action packed thriller that you will not be able to put down!! 


Congratulations MA Hunter on an explosive success!!! Welcome to my favourite author club!! Here's to many more successes 🥂!!! 


Clear your schedules before picking this up as you will not be able to put it down!!! "


Overall an absolutely page turning, addictive, gripping and explosive must read that will keep you addicted from the very start to the fantastic ending!!!  


Genres covered in this novel include Psychological Suspense, Hard-Boiled Mystery, Crime, Thriller & Mystery Adventures, International Mystery & Crime, Suspense Thriller, Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Psychological Fiction,  Psychological Literary Fiction, Thriller & Suspense Literary Fiction, Crime, Thriller & Mystery Adventures,  and Mystery amongst others. 


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of The Girl on the Train, Behind Closed Doors, fans of Miranda Smith, Sheryl Browne, Sue Watson, K.L. Slater. Nina Manning, Shalini Boland, Lisa Jewell, Ruth Ware, Gillian Flynn and anyone looking for an explosive page turner!!! 

312 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon, free with kindle unlimited and £9.99 in paperback at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 



@Adrift @MAHunter @StephenEdger@BoldwoodBooks @BoldwoodBloggers @BookAndTonic@Netgalley @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited 



  



 










Author Bio


M.A. Hunter is the pen name of Stephen Edger, the Amazon bestselling author of psychological and crime thrillers, including Snatched, and the Kate Matthews series. Born in the north-east of England, he now lives in Southampton where many of his stories are set, allowing him to use his insider knowledge to deliver realistic and unsettling suspense on every page.





Social Media Links


Facebook https://www.facebook.com/AuthorMAHunter


Twitter https://twitter.com/StephenEdger


Instagram https://www.instagram.com/stef.edger/


Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/MAHunterNews


Bookbub profile: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/m-a-hunter








Purchase Link


Amazon: https://mybook.to/Adriftsocial

















7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page