top of page

'A Witness To Murder' by Verity Bright


Book Description:


A medieval house, a dead body and some rather suspicious chocolate fudge? Call for Lady Swift!


Autumn, 1920. Lady Eleanor Swift, accidental amateur detective and retired explorer, is determined to take a break from investigating murders. So when a local politician dies suddenly at an elegant dinner party at Farrington Manor, she tries her hardest not to listen to the raft of rumours around the village that he might have been poisoned by the fudge. It’s the anniversary of the disappearance of her beloved parents and she’s promised herself not to get mixed up with any more mysteries. She isn’t sure they’d have approved.


But when she arrives home to discover that Mrs Pitkin, the kindly cook from Farrington Manor, has been dismissed without wage or reference because the police consider her a suspect, Eleanor knows she needs to act. If there was a murder, then she needs to track down the culprit and clear Mrs Pitkin’s name.


Accompanied by her faithful partner in crime, Gladstone the bulldog, who has the best nose for sniffing out bones in the country, Eleanor sets out to find the killer. And when another body turns up and she finds poisoned fudge in the victim’s house, Eleanor knows she’s on the right track. But can she sort the truth from the lies before she becomes a witness to another murder – this time rather closer to home?


An utterly charming cozy mystery! Warm and witty, fans of Agatha Christie, TE Kinsey and LB Hathaway will be totally hooked.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'A Witness To Murder' by Verity Bright


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 14th September 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author. It is the third book in the 'Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery' series.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing cover and interesting sounding blurb. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 34 chapters which are short to medium in length so ideal to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Lady Eleanor Smith. I enjoy books written in third person as it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters.


This book is based in in the UK. I love books set in the UK as I live in Wales, UK and sometimes I have been to the places so can picture them better.


I was a bit dubious at a quick glance that I may struggle with the language used but I thought it was brilliantly written. I became completely absorbed in the storyline and enjoyed going through the suspects with Lady Eleanor.


I absolutely loved the characters, not what I was expecting at all. Fantastic personalities. Clifford's wit made me laugh and Eleanor is a fantastic character full of personality, a breathe of fresh air!!! They were all very realistic and I look forward to meeting them all again.


The storyline itself had me hooked from page one and I thought it was fun to try and work out who the killer was along with Eleanor. I never did work it out which is always a bonus when it comes to crime novels as there's nothing worse than figuring it out when your not even half way through the book!!


Overall a fun and easy to read cozy murder mystery with just the tight amount of humour that will keep you turning the pages.


Genres covered include Cozy Mystery, Murder and Crime.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as anyone looking for an easy read.


289 pages.


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@VerityBright @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks


https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R





Author Bio:


Verity Bright is the pseudonym for a husband-and-wife writing partnership that has spanned a quarter of a century. Starting out writing high-end travel articles and books, they published everything from self-improvement to humour, before embarking on their first historical mystery. They are the authors of the fabulous Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series, set in the 1920s.


@BrightVerity






Buy Link:

https://bit.ly/32ZHGxy

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page