top of page

A Truth For A Truth Carol Wyer. Review.

Updated: Apr 6, 2023


Book Description


DI Kate Young’s team is hunting for a killer. What they don’t know… is that the killer is her.


DI Kate Young has known for years that her boss, Superintendent John Dickson, is a violent and evil man. But when she finally confronts him and accidentally shoots and kills him, she’s forced to cover her tracks before anyone can pin his death on her. With revelations about his corruption soon to become public knowledge , Kate sets up a trail of evidence to make it seem that Dickson has conveniently vanished…


But Kate knows the corruption doesn’t end with Dickson. As she heads up the team investigating his supposed disappearance, she also pursues other loose ends. Stanka, the sex worker who supplied the evidence against Dickson, leads her to crucial information on another corrupt officer, DI Harriet Khatri, and her dubious involvement with sex traffickers.


As the noose starts to tighten on Kate, she finds herself targeted by traffickers, the bent cops on her force and even her own team of detectives. Can she stay one step ahead of them all and bring Harriet to justice? Can she trust anyone around her? And can she possibly get away with murder?






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'A Truth For A Truth' by Carol Wyer.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Carol Wyer and Thomas & Mercer publishers.


Publication date 6th April 2023


This is the seventh book I have read by this author. It is also the fourth book in the 'DI Kate Young' series and although I have read the first book called 'An Eye For An Eye', the second book called 'A Cut For A Cut' and the third book 'A Life For A Life' and highly recommended them all, they can also be read as a standalone. I have also previously Carol's 'Detective Natalie Ward' series which I would also highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its gorgeous eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. I am also a huge fan of Carol and if this is half as good as any of her previous books it is sure to be a fantastic read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Thomas & Mercer. I have yet to read a book published by Thomas & Mercer that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 32 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in Staffordshire, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited Staffordshire on several occasions so am looking forward to see if I recognise anywhere


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is DI Kate Young and DS EMMA Donaldson. I enjoy books written in third person with several protagonists as it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters.


OMG!!!! YET ANOTHER ABSOLUTE PAGE TURNER!!! What are you doing to me!!!!! Seriously!!!!! I hope you are writing your next book as I write this!!! I'm talking to you Mrs Wyer!!!!! Right, yes, well anyway let's give you my review....



Carol Wyer does it Yet again!!! ABSOLUTELY Fantastically written as always ensuring a smooth and easy read that sucks you straight into the pages. Vivid descriptions put me in the middle of the action looking at everything going on in High definition. The cover and synopsis works perfectly with the storyline.



The storyline itself was very fast paced, rammed full of action, murder, mystery, suspense, tension and twists and turns. OMG the bombshells and unexpected twists which I was not expecting (a rarity to surprise me after the amount of crime books I've read but Carol does it without fail every time!!!) and a major cliffhanger at the end!!! I CANNOT WAIT for the next in this series. The storyline was realistic so easily imagined and the killings themselves were unique which is definitely a positive when you have read the same ones over and over again!! An absolutely addictive and compelling page turner!!! If your going to start reading this then clear your schedules because it is absolutely unputdownable!!!! It is filled with crime, loss, shocks, excitement, tension, suspense and so so much more!! You could NOT get any better than this. This is the best book I have read this year. I have loved all Carol's books but she just keeps getting better and better!! How do you do it?!?! The research Carol has put in absolutely shines through as always. Carol's writing and descriptions are so evocative I really felt I was right next to Kate throughout. Reading this book really does make you feel that you are standing with her and going through her stress, panic, struggles and so much more. The descriptions are perfect as is the atmosphere. I don't think I have actually read a book where the main protagonist is both killer and detective especially not where they are given instructions to find their victim so Carol manages another explosive, addictive and unique storyline! Carol has absolutely blown my mind and slamdunked it. The ending was just WHAT THE HELL SHUT THE THE FRONT DOOR!!! I literally shouted when I read it which earned a few strange looks from my partner lol. Seriously I NEED to know what happens next!!!!! I just can't wait for the next amazing addition to this series which is 'A Soul For A Soul' but won't be with us until 2024 😭 How am I going to cope?!?!


IF YOU LOVE A GOOD BOOK THEN THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST!!! WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR? GRAB YOUR COPY NOW!!!!


I absolutely loved meeting all the characters again!! Kate is just amazing, an extremely strong female lead who didn't hold back the punches while going through hell herself after the trauma she had been through. I always love it when an author brings in strong women. I also liked Kate's personality and really felt for her on several occasions. I wasn't sure about Morgan at the start of this epic series but he has definitely grown on me and it is nice to see how much he has developed and grown from book to book. Emma is another strong woman who I really enjoyed meeting again and getting to know more abut her. I really felt for her, especially on this book, with everything she went through with her mum. I have loved watching Emma and Morgan growing closer throughout the series. I have always hated superintendent John Dickson and even dead he is still driving me mad by hearing his sneering antagonistic voice in Kates and unfortunately (and thanks to Carol's amazing writing skills) in my head too!! I've said it before and I'll say it again, his name suits him perfectly!! Regardless of who I did or didn't like they were all very strong and well defined characters who I'm looking forward to meet in the next 'episode'. A great team who have definitely become friends that I look forward to meeting every time and have really come to life for me. I cannot wait to meet them all again.



I am really looking forward to the next book and would LOVE to see this made into a movie!!! It would definitely be a best seller along with this amazing novel which kept me up late at night as I just could not put it down!!!!


Congratulations Carol on yet another absolutely blooming page turning success!! This is exactly why you are my favourite crime author and this is my favourite series because you lady have talent!!! Keep up the amazing work and here is to your next success 🥂


Overall a not to be missed, must read addictive, explosive page turner with a BOMBSHELL ending!!!


Genres covered in this novel include Serial Killer Thrillers, Murder, Murder Thrillers, Suspense, Organised Crime, Kidnapping Crime Fiction, Crime Thriller & Mystery Adventures, Thriller, Police Procedural and Crime Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as Angela Marsons, Tess Gerritsen, anyone looking for a good book and YOU, your friends, your neighbours, just everyone!!



411 pages.


This book is just £3.99 to purchase on kindle and £8.99 in paperback via Amazon (during time of review) which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@ATruthForATruth @DIKateYoung @CarolWyer @ThomasAndMercer @ZooLoosBT @ZooloosBookTours @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger










Author Bio


USA Today bestselling author and winner of The People's Book Prize Award, Carol Wyer's crime novels have sold over one million copies and been translated into nine languages.


A move from humour to the 'dark side' in 2017, saw the introduction of popular DI Robyn Carter in Little Girl Lost and proved that Carol had found her true niche.


February 2021 saw the release of the first in the much-anticipated new series, featuring DI Kate Young. An Eye For An Eye was chosen as a Kindle First Reads and became the #1 bestselling book on Amazon UK and Amazon Australia.


Carol has had articles published in national magazines 'Woman's Weekly', featured in 'Take A Break', 'Choice', 'Yours' and 'Woman's Own' magazines and the Huffington Post. She's also been interviewed on numerous radio shows discussing '' Irritable Male Syndrome' and 'Ageing Disgracefully' and on BBC Breakfast television.


She currently lives on a windy hill in rural Staffordshire with her husband Mr. Grumpy... who is very, very grumpy. When she is not plotting devious murders, she can be found performing her comedy routine, Smile While You Still Have Teeth.


To learn more, go to www.carolwyer.co.uk, subscribe to her YouTube channel, or follow her on Twitter: @carolewyer



Social Media Links










Purchase Link











11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page