top of page

'A Secret In The Family' by Leah Mercer

Updated: Sep 16, 2022


Author: LEAH MERCER


Book: A SECRET IN THE FAMILY

Publication Day: SEPTEMBER 9TH 2022


Description:

Rachel sat at the kitchen table, trying to take everything in. She still couldn’t believe what her father had done. Clutching a faded photograph and a necklace in her hands, all she knew was that in her mother’s final days, she would do anything to protect her.


The call came on a seemingly ordinary day. But as soon as Rachel heard the pain in her sister’s voice, she had to face the fact that life as she knew it was about to be shattered: “It’s mum. She’s not well. She doesn’t have much time.”


Though her heart breaks to leave her husband and children behind, Rachel knows the right thing is to return home to care for her mother Janet. Their relationship has been strained for years. This may be the last chance for them both to heal.


Walking up to the front gate of her childhood home, Rachel is overwhelmed with memories: of hazy summers playing with her sister, of laughter ringing through the house, of the accident which cost their father his life. After that day, Rachel’s relationship with her mother changed forever.


Rachel has never forgiven herself for what happened and it is clear Janet hasn’t either. Determined to make amends, Rachel begins to get her mother’s house in order. But hidden in the cellar, Rachel unearths a devastating secret. A faded photograph and a tarnished necklace are the only clues to unravelling a secret that should have remained hidden.


Can Rachel unravel the mystery when it has the power to destroy her family? And when she finally discovers the truth, will it destroy everything she has ever known?


A completely addictive and heartwrenching story about deception and the secrets that lie behind a seemingly ordinary family. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Barbara O’Neal and The Silent Daughter





BLOG TOUR REVIEW 


Review for 'A Secret In The Family' by Leah Mercer. 


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Leah Mercer, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous 


Publication date 6th September 2021.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'A Mother's Lie' and 'Why She Left' which I highly recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Barbara O’Neal and The Silent Daughter. ' I am a huge fan of Liane Moriarty so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Leah and if this is half as good as 'A Mother's Lie' and 'Why She Left' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture  that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 38 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in London, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 , UK 🇬🇧 . The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have recently visited London so will be interested to see if there are any places I visited mentioned. 


This book is written in third person perspective and the protagonists are Rachel Varna and Sam. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. 



WELL DONE LEAH YET AGAIN ON AN ABSOLUTE PAGE TURNER!! 


This book is extremely well written with fantastic descriptions that really set the scene and put you in the storyline. The cover and synopsis suit the book perfectly!!

This book is absolutely addictive, I just could not put it down. The storyline isn't just one plot but has many layers that peel apart as you read it. The book just keeps getting better and better as you go on.. The storyline is filled with lies, secrets, abuse, twists, turns, red herrings, suspense, tension and everything you could want in a psychological domestic fiction. I must admit that I wasn't shocked by some of the revelations  and worked a few things out very early but there was a twist at the end I wasn't expecting. Sadly due to this and the fact that I only give honest reviews I feel I need to give this book a 4/5 rather than a 5/5. However I would like to say please don't let this put you off as I have read hundreds of crime and psychological thrillers and it is getting harder and harder to shock me. This book was emotionally packed and the two storyline and lives of Rachel and Sam were placed perfectly in order for the storyline to weave together until the truth is revealed. I thought the ending was beautiful and it wrapped the storyline up perfectly. A very sweet and emotionally packed ending to a dramatic storyline. The detail Leah uses in her writing makes it very easy to visualise the people and surroundings and I felt I was beside Ruth and Sam throughout. It is a very smooth, easy and quick read. An absolutely riveting, page turning and addictive read that I would love to see turned into a movie. 


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


The characters were all well written and strong. My heart went out to Rachel but I must admit there were several times I could have shouted at her. I found her to be quite sappy at times and too pandering to her mother. She was definitely more forgiving than I would have been to certain people. On the other hand I found I really connected with Sam and I really felt her pain. The sympathy I felt for the both characters were on two different levels. I found Sam's character to be more realistic than Rachel's and it really was heartbreaking to watch everything she was going through. I was glad that she had Jean and Mo to turn to and I felt a connection to both these characters. They were realistic, lovable and a great addition to the storyline. I can't say too much about the other characters as I don't want to give anything away. I was a bit disappointed by the fact that Alex seemed to be quite a big character in Sam's life but he seemed to disappear in the plot. I know he was told where to go but I thought there may have been more of him later in the storyline. However I have a feeling there may be a possible reason for this as I belive Leah wanted the reader to connect him to certain events. I won't say more now but the characters all came together to make this storyline captivating. 


This book includes 3 chapters from Leah's book 'A Mother's Lie' at the end so make sure you read to the end cover to get to enjoy them. I have read 'A Mother's Lie' myself and would highly recommend it. It's a 5/5 star powerful, emotionally charged addictive page turner that will leave you in tears.


Congratulations again Leah on yet another riveting page turner!! This is exactly why you are one of my favourite authors and here's to your next success 🥂 



Overall an addictive page turning domestic, psychological fiction with a deep meaning that will keep you up late at night. 


Genres covered in this novel include Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller,  Domestic drama, Murder Mystery, Women's Fiction and Psychological Fiction amongst others. 

 


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Liane Moriarty, Barbara O’Neal, 'The Silent Daughter' and anyone looking for an addictive, meaningful page turning psychological domestic fiction. 



248 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited and £7.99 to purchase in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 


Rated 4 /5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 


@LeahMercer  @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 



  





Author Bio:


Leah Mercer was born in Halifax, Nova Scotia, on the east coast of Canada. Her first ambition was to be a journalist, but after completing a master’s in journalism, she soon realised she preferred anything other than reporting the news. After trying her hand at public relations, teaching and recruitment in various countries around the world, she finally settled in London and returned to writing… fiction, this time. Her first two novels, Who We Were Before and The Man I Thought You Were, were shortlisted at the UK’s Romantic Novelists’ Association Awards. Leah loves books, running and visiting historic houses with her husband and their son.



Author Social Media Links






Bookouture Email Sign Up: https://www.bookouture.com/leah-mercer




Buy link(s)







7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Opmerkingen

Beoordeeld met 0 uit 5 sterren.
Nog geen beoordelingen

Voeg een beoordeling toe
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page