top of page

A Scottish Island Surprise by Holly Wyld


Book Description


“Far as I’m aware–” Joe said, dropping his head briefly, the better to compose his features, “–far as

I’m aware, Miss, we’ve no rabies in the Hebrides at the moment.”


Rose Mackie has inherited a house on a far-flung Scottish island from her curmudgeon of a father

who wanted nothing whatsoever to do with her.


So she lands on Primrose Island with the intention of packing up the old beach house, selling it to the

first person who’ll make an offer, and moving firmly on. But Joe Fraser, her late father’s neighbour,

has some inconvenient news for her on that front.


Rose prepares for battle – only to find that the longer she spends on Primrose Island, and the more

time she spends around Joe in particular, the more she begins to question everything she thought

she knew...






BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'A Scottish Island Surprise' by Holly Wyld.



Read and reviewed for Holly Wyld and Rachel's Random Tours.



Publication date 21st March 2023.



This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also the first book in the 'Primrose Island' series.



This novel consists of 29 chapters. The chapters are short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



LOVE, LOVE, LOOVVEEE , LOVED IT!!! A HUGE WELL DONE HOLLY ON AN ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC NOVELLA ♥!!!



I absolutely adored this short and sweet novella!! It may be the first book I have read by Holly but it most certainly won't be my last. The storyline itself is romantically charged and filled with love, friendship, sweet pets , comedy, romance, fun and absolutely everything you could want in an absolutely adorable book!!! The storyline is unique and I absolutely loved the stunning settings and atmosphere!! Holly's fantastic, vivid and evocative descriptions really make you feel that you have landed on Primrose Island yourself smelling the sea air, feeling the sand on your toes and falling in love with the area and characters!!! It genuinely felt like I had been whisked away on holiday and I was gutted to have to pack my suitcase back up and return to dreary Wales after a beautiful Scottish trip away. This book could have gone on and on as I was completely invested and absorbed in the storyline as well as falling in love with the area and characters. I am absolutely landed that there are more books in what promises to be a stunning series and I cannot wait to get hooked into the next one which is called 'One Spring At Tilladrum' and promises to be just as stunning as this after reading the blurb on Amazon. It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are. It is very important for me to bond with not only the lead protagonists but also any characters that may make repeat appearances during the series too. However, there is nothing to worry about when it comes to this book as I quickly fell in love with the characters who made me smile and laugh throughout and I cannot wait to meet them all again in the next book/s!!! It made me laugh, scream, shout, angry, jump for joy and absolutely fall in love with Primrose Island!! Along the way there are tears, happiness, loss, secrets, romance, friendship and sparks flying everywhere!! Holly's evocative writing skills brings the story life and one minute your chilling at home with the book in your hand and the next you've been sucked straight into the storyline meeting the characters and exploring the Scottish Island. This book had me in stitches on several occasions and at other times left me sitting there shouting at a certain person and getting some very strange looks!! There was plenty going on and I absolutely loved every moment of it. The storyline is unique and I think it is such a fantastic plot I really would love to see this turned into a movie!! I would be the first barging their way in front to get tickets!! There were so many large and unique personalities in this book and thanks to Holly's amazing writing skills each and every one of them came alive. I absolutely LOVED watching all the separate relationships develop and change between the characters and I would love to see where each goes and what they get up to next along with hoping to meet them in the future books in this series! This is a novella so I completely devoured it in a couple of hours and it was a great escape from reality!!! This book was filled with a lovely range of characters and I cannot wait to meet them all again!! Regardless of whether you love or hate the characters they all worked perfectly together to make an absolutely gorgeous storyline so a huge WELL done to Holly for bringing them to life!! I read the blurbs of the future books in this series and I cannot wait to get stuck in to them!!


An absolutely stunning read by Holly!! If you are looking for that perfect read to lift your spirits, and keep you hooked then what are you waiting for??



Well done Holly on a fun, funny, heart warming and stunning page turning novella!!! I'm looking forward to your next success and getting stuck into the future books in this series!!! Welcome to my favourite authors list ♥ and here's to your next success 🥂



Overall an absolutely gorgeous, fun, feel good, page turning novella filled with friendships, stunning settings, a cute kitten, a mischievous dog and memorable characters that will keep you hooked!!



95 pages.



This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with Kindle unlimited and £5.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews






@AScottishIslandSurprise @PrimroseIslandNovellas @HollyWyld @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited


























Author Bio


Holly lives in the wilds of Scotland with her family. When she’s not busy writing books she’s probably

curled up with one in a cosy corner somewhere! Currently, Holly’s busy working on her Primrose

Island novella series with lots of cosy, heartwarming stories to come in 2023!




Purchase Link







1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page