top of page

'A Mother's Lie' by Leah Mercer


Book: 'A Mother's Lie' (previously titled 'Safe From Harm' )

Author: Leah Mercer

Pub Day: 24/06/2021


About the Book:

My darling child… all I’ve ever yearned for. But how do I keep you safe? When Ali retreats to her seaside cottage, all she wants is to be alone. To reconnect with a place that has always felt like home until her baby is born. But then her life collides with the people living in the house next door, Michael and Meg, and she is immediately welcomed into their perfect life with their beautiful baby Jem. As they help her prepare for her own arrival, Ali knows she has made the right choice for her baby in returning to Seashine Cottage. When Michael leaves suddenly for a work trip, and Meg impulsively invites Ali to move in, it becomes clear things aren’t as perfect as they first seemed. Meg is holding on to a dark secret. And as her behaviour becomes ever more erratic – leaning on Ali for increasing amounts of help – while Michael shows no signs of returning, Ali begins to worry. Does she need to protect herself and her unborn child from the new friend she thought would help keep her safe? And what about her own devastating secret… the one she’s been running from? From the bestselling author of Who We Were Before comes an unputdownable and heartbreaking read about how far we will go to protect those we love the most. Perfect for fans of The Silent Daughter, Diane Chamberlain and Kerry Lonsdale.








BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'A Mother's Lie' by Leah Mercer. Previously titled 'Safe From Harm'.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Leah Mercer, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 24th June 2021.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching and gorgeous cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of The Silent Daughter, Diane Chamberlain and Kerry Lonsdale.' I am a huge fan of Diane Chamberlain so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 43 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in England, UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are partly or fully set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have in fact visited and gone on holiday in England on many occasions so am looking forward to possibly recognising name places.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Violet and Ali. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'A Mother's Lie' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Leah discusses/includes death of a child.


It is set over/includes multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


Wow!!! Just absolutely wow!!! What a gripping and addictive emotional read. Clear your schedules before you start this and get the tissues ready!! This book was previously titled 'Safe From Harm' but I definitely think the new title of 'A Mother's Lie' suits it more. The title, cover and synopsis work perfectly with the storyline.


This book is beautifully written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and puts the reader in the storyline. The storyline itself is emotionally packed and filled with love, loss, lies , friendship, secrets, tension, suspense and tears. I was absolutely hooked throughout and it is extremely powerful. I was in tears by the end and that is definitely a rarity for me. However, I also think that it ended perfectly and as it should have regardless of how heartbreaking it was. I would have never guessed what was going on and it is teu that you never know what happens behind closed doors and the grass isn't always greener on the other side.


I was completely invested in Abi's character who was a strong, well defined and realistic character. I always enjoy reading about powerful women and the fact that she had so much going on but just kept on pushing through even at the end shows what a strong woman she was. I wasn't sure what to feel about Meg and Michael throughout and was extremely shocked at the end. Well done Leah as it's getting harder and harder to shock me!!! I also enjoyed reading Violet's story and seeing what happened through her eyes, another heartbreaking story.


Congratulations Leah on an addictive, successful and powerful page turner. I am looking forward to reading more of your books past and future. Welcome to my top authors list!!!


Overall a powerful, emotionally charged addictive page turner that will leave you in tears.


Genres covered in this book include Suspense and Psychological Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Diane Chamberlain and anyone looking for a page turner.



253 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@LeahMercer @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86














Author Bio


Leah Mercer was born in Halifax, Nova Scotia, on the east coast of Canada. Her first ambition was to be a journalist, but after completing a master's in journalism, she soon realised she preferred anything other than reporting the news. After trying her hand at public relations, teaching and recruitment in various countries around the world, she finally settled in London and returned to writing... fiction, this time. Her first two novels, Who We Were Before and The Man I Thought You Were, were shortlisted at the UK's Romantic Novelists' Association Awards. Leah loves books, running and visiting historic houses with her husband and their son.


Social Media












Buy Links


Google: http://ow.ly/BvTl50EAD9p Audible:

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page