top of page

A Long Time Burning by J.A Higgins. Review and Giveaway!!!


Book Description


Nell has had a terrible year, so she travels to North Chase to find some true Christmas magic. But the

town has its own problems; its solstice festival is tainted by the disappearance of two teenage boys

and a witch’s curse is blamed.


Then, nine-month-old Ava is threatened. Has a medieval killer been awoken or does something else

haunt the woods?


Nell must battle through horrific nightmares and face her own demons to expose the truth before

another child is spirited away. There is magic in the air this Christmas, but behind the tinsel and

baubles glitters a terrifying secret that one family has hidden for centuries, and only Nell can uncover

it.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW




Review for 'A Long Time Burning' by J.A.Higgins.




Read and reviewed for J.A Higgins, River Design Books and Rachel's Random Tours




Publication date 1st October 2022.




This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also the second book in the 'Nell Montague Mystery' series but can be read as a standalone.



This novel consists of a prologue, 50 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


'A Long Time Burning' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book J.A. Higgins discusses witchcraft, occultism, cannibalism and the death of children.


OMG!!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE, LOVE ,LOVED THIS BOOK, AN ABSOLUTELY PERFECT START (FOR ME AS I HAVE YET TO READ BOOK 1)TO WHAT PROMISES TO BE AN EXPLOSIVE SERIES!!



This book is extremely well written with vivid and evocative descriptions that really put you in the storyline, feeling the hair on your arms raise and putting you on the edge of your seat!!!



I absolutely loved this addictive, explosive, creepy, horrific, ghostly page turner!!! I honestly loved absolutely everything about it from the characters to the settings the history to the occult it was just one heck of an amazing read!!! If you love horrors, gothic stories, ghost books, thrillers, suspense, well do you know what if you love reading then grab a copy of this book today and you will not regret it!!! It has got to be one of, if not the best horror/ghost/occult book that I have ever read!!! I am absolutely landed that it is part of a series as it means I can get hooked straight into the first book 'Finding Ruby's and then hopefully by then the next book in this gripping series will be available!!! Filled with suspense, murder, witchcraft, ghosts, friendship, family, mystery, twists and so much more this book is an absolutely explosive and epic book in what promises to be an addictive must read series!! I absolutely love ,love, LOVED the unique storyline!! I have read so many books that it is getting harder and harder for me to find a truly unique plot but J.A absolutely smashes it out of the park with this one!! I picked it up and even though I kept telling myself just one more chapter I just could not put it down as every time I went to something happened which meant I had to read just one more again until I ended up reading it in one sitting having been glued to my kindle for a few hours!! J.A's evocative writing skills and descriptions really brought the storyline to life and I just cannot wait to get hooked into the next book in this fantastic new series!!! This book will suck you in and keep you gripped in the pages until your thrown out at the end with a racing heart!!


Although this is the second book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


Clear your schedules before turning a single page as this book is truly unputdownable!!!



It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are. It is very important for me to bond with not only the lead protagonists but also any characters that may make repeat appearances during the series too.



The characters are all strong, well rounded and realistic. I really enjoyed getting to meet and learn all about Nell, Austin and Max (the three amigos), their past, unique abilities, histories and the amazing bond that they have with one another. I genuinely loved all of the characters and have become completely invested them and they have each become like friends to me already which is definitely a first when it comes to just reading one book in a series!!! It just goes to show how fantastic J.A's writing skills are as she completely brought them all to life for me. I was gutted to say goodbye to them at the end but on the flip side I am landed that I can go back to the first book 'Finding Ruby' and seeing how their relationships/friendships began from the start. They all have such likeable and unique personalities that they will definitely be staying with me for a long time!! I also enjoyed meeting and getting to know several other characters from the present as well as going back to 1666 which was extremely intriguing!!! An absolutely fantastic selection of characters and although there were some that I could not stand regardless of how you feel about them they all worked together perfectly to create an absolutely addictive page turner!!!



This book is the BEST ghost thriller/occult horror I have ever read !!! This book really is a truly unique page turner that I picked up this morning and could not put it down until I finished!!!



Well done J.A Higgins on an absolutely addictive and explosive page turner and I would definitely like to welcome you on to my top 3 favourite horror author list!!! Congratulations on an absolutely fantastic success and here is to what is guaranteed to be many more 🥂




Overall an absolutely addictive, action packed paranormal suspense packed thriller that will keep you turning the pages until you've devoured the book in hours!!




328 pages.




This book is just £4.49 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £8.49 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!




Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.




Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews






@ALongTimeBurning @ANellMontagueMystery @JAHiggins @RiverDesignBooks @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited
























Author Bio


J A Higgins was born and raised at Porton Down in Wiltshire, and currently works for the NHS in

Salisbury. She has always been fascinated by history, crime and the unexplained.

A Long Time Burning is the second book in the Nell Montague Mystery series which explores how

horrors from the past are still very relevant today. The first book, Finding Ruby, was a

Page Turner Book Award winner in 2021.





Social Media Links



Instagram – higgins_author




Purchase Link




Giveaway to Win a signed copy of A Long Time Burning and matching bookmark (Open to UK Only)


*Terms and Conditions –UK entries welcome. Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below. The

winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by

Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources

reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over. Any personal

data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with

third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway

organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will

delete the data. I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.








13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page