top of page

'A Home At Cornflower Cottage' by Tilly Tennant

Description:


Escape to the flower-filled fields and hedgerows of the Cotswold countryside, to a tiny cottage and a summer that could change everything….

Amelie will never give up Cornflower Cottage, marooned in its island of wild fields and thick woodland. She did her homework at the scrubbed kitchen table and helped her mother hang washing on the line from the old oak tree. And when her beloved parents died, Cornflower Cottage became Amelie’s armour against the world.

The trouble is that it’s falling apart, and she’s struggling to make ends meet. The garden is a jungle of weeds, the roof leaks, the boiler is broken. Determined to keep hold of the home that is her last link to her parents, Amelie decides it’s time to take action.

Extra shifts at a local hotel, favours called in from old friends, and, reluctantly, a lodger. Could rude, hilarious, brown-eyed Xander be the answer to her problems? Or is he just going to come in and start changing things?

Just as Amelie manages to save the cottage from total collapse, and she starts getting used to the sound of laughter in her cosy farmhouse kitchen, a face from Xander’s past appears and Amelie’s future in the home she loves is shaken once again.

Can Amelie find a way to save her home and protect her heart? Can she trust Xander, or was the spark between them just in her imagination?

A completely beautiful romantic comedy about being brave, following your heart and moving on. Fans of Holly Martin, Jessica Redland and Nicola May will be swept away by A Home at Cornflower Cottage. 





BLOG TOUR REVIEW 


Review for 'A Home At Cornflower Cottage' by Tilly Tennant. 


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Tilly Tennant, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous 


Publication date 1st July 2022.


This is the fourth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Hotel At Honeymoon Station', 'The Cafe At Marigold Marina' and 'My Best Friend's Wedding' which I highly recommend. 



I was originally drawn to this book by its  eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Fans of Holly Martin, Jessica Redland and Nicola May will be swept away by A Home at Cornflower Cottage.' I am a huge fan of Holly Martin so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Tilly and if this is half as good as 'The Hotel At Honeymoon Station', 'The Cafe At Marigold Marina', 'My Best Friend's Wedding' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture  that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 24 chapters. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the Cotswolds, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧 The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. 

 


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist being Amelia. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. 


Congratulations Tilly on yet another gorgeous  read!!! 


This book is very well written with vivid descriptions that helps the reader see the river flowing. The cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly. 


This book is a very easy and smooth read. Once I picked it up I just could not put it down so clear your schedules before starting!! I absolutely loved visiting the gorgeous atmosphere of the Cotswolds and the sweet and homely Cornflower Cottage.  I would have loved to move in myself and have the river and even otters so close, it just sounded absolutely gorgeous!! This book is filled with love, loss, friendships and everything you could hope for in a contemporary romance. The pace was absolutely perfect and I was devasted when I came to the end and realised I had to pack my bags and leave Cornflower Cottage. I would love to see what happens in the next chapter of Amelie, Xander and even Imogen's lives. I absolutely loved that Amelie and Xander were such big animal lovers and being such an animal lover myself. It was also intriguing to learn about conservation and the fact that Tilly has done her research shines through so well done Tilly!! There is nothing worse than a book littered with mistakes as the author hasn't don't their research but you've done a fantastic job! 

  

This would make an absolutely gorgeous movie that I would love to see made!!!  This book is a sweet rom com which will have you feeling warm and fuzzy inside at times and yet screaming and shouting at certain people at other times. The atmosphere was gorgeous and I loved the setting. It made this book a perfect fire place read anywhere and anytime from on the beach in the middle of the day or curled up in fire in the middle of the night. 


The characters were are well defined, strong and realistic. I became completely invested in not only Amelie, Xander and Imogen along with Rachel and Georgiou. I will admit though thay it did take me a while to click with Amelie as I did find her a bit irritating at times in regards to Decker as I felt she should have stuck up for herself a lot more and I felt myself shouting at my kindle on several occasions telling her to get a backbone!! I could not stand the boy and the way he treated her was disgusting and it definitely felt like an "ownership" for Decker rather than a relationship. I loved Rachel straight away and found her to be a fantastic friend to Amalie. Georgiou was such a romantic and so sweet I absolutely fell in love with him and felt the same with Xander who got bonus points for how much he loved animals. I had the seem feelings with Imogen as I had with Decker and found her to be extremely stuck up and thought that herself and Xander were like chalk and cheese!!!  However, you can't love each character or it would be a very boring book. Love them or hate them each character played their role in this storyline absolutely perfectly. 


Well done Tilly on another great book!!! Here's to your next success 🥂!!! 


Overall a lovely romance that will sweep you off your feet and take you on a gorgeous break away. 


Genres covered in this novel include Romantic Comedy, Romance Novel, Women's Fiction, Contemporary Romance, Comedy, Women's Humorous Fiction, and Women's Contemporary Fiction amongst others. 


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Shari Low, Heidi Swain, Jill Mansel, Jenny Colgan, Holly Martin, Jessica Redland and Nicola May. 



361 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 


Rated 4 /5 (I Liked it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 


@TillyTennant @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 



  







Author Bio:


Tilly Tennant was born in Dorset, the oldest of four children, but now lives in Staffordshire with a family of her own. After years of dismal and disastrous jobs, including paper plate stacking, shop assistant, newspaper promotions and waitressing (she never could carry a bowl of soup without spilling a bit), she decided to indulge her passion for the written word by embarking on a degree in English and creative writing. She wrote a novel in 2007 during her first summer break at university and hasn't stopped writing since. She also works as a freelance fiction editor and part-time lecturer.

Tilly also writes young adult fiction as Sharon Sant.Author


Social Media Links








Buy Links:



Audible:







13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page