top of page

'A Good Mother' by Sam Hepburn


Title: A Good Mother

Author: Sam Hepburn

PUBLICATION DAY: May 26th 2021

Description:

I see my son’s scooter lying in the undergrowth. Time stands still. Where is he? Deafened by my own heartbeat, I keep looking but I can’t see him. This is all my fault. My punishment for the things I did, and the things I should have done.

All I ever wanted was to keep my son safe. I married the perfect husband, built the perfect home. I’ve tried to give Finn the life I never had.

Everything was going so well. Until now.

It’s just small things at first – a punctured tyre, an open gate that I'm sure I locked. But then I see the photograph of two young girls, and a night I’ve tried to forget.

I know I have to stop pretending that nothing is happening. I can’t escape the truth.

Someone knows my secret. But what do they want from me?

A gripping and suspenseful thriller with a jaw-dropping twist, fans of Friend Request, The Wife Between Us and The Girl on the Train won’t be able to put this down.






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Good Mother' by Sam Hepburn.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Sam Hepburn, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 26th May 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read her previous book 'Gone Before' which I would highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its gorgeous eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated 'A gripping and suspenseful thriller with a jaw-dropping twist, fans of Friend Request, The Wife Between Us and The Girl on the Train won’t be able to put this down.' . I am a huge fan of 'The Girl On The Train' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Sam and if this is half as good as 'Gone Before' it is sure to be a great read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 52 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Nicci. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture


WOW!!! What an unexpected ending!!!! Well done Sam you have absolutely smashed it yet again with yet another fantastic page turning psychological thriller!!!!


This book is fantastically written with vivid descriptions that put you straight in the picture. The cover, title and synopsis suited the plot perfectly and I much prefer this cover to the original, very eye catching!! The storyline is scarily realistic and shows alot of the dark side of society that people so often turn their back on or pretend it doesn't exist. It is filled with suspense, twists, lies, shocks, secrets and everything that makes a psychological thriller unputdownable which is exactly what this book is. I was completely absorbed throughout and read it in one sitting. I would never have guessed what was going to happen so a huge congratulations to Sam. It is getting harder and harder to shock me as I have found it with the past few books I've read, due to reading so many crime thrillers but you had me hook, line and sinker. I was kept on the edge of my seat and biting my nails while my heart was in my throat. The ending was absolutely perfect and everything was wrapped up and explained nicely, I'm a stickler for loose ends!!


The characters were vivid, complex and realistically (unfortunate in some cases as there are many people out there like some of the horrid characters in this book). I really liked Nicci and felt quite a bond with her. However, at times I was absolutely shouting at the book for her allowing that scum Ian treat her the way he did, I could not stand him or his mother from the moment I met them. I really did feel sorry for Nicci though as it wasn't just them 2 she had a problem and trouble with but some other vile people, I won't say anymore as I don't want to spoil it for future readers but I'm sure they'll know who I mean after reading. I also felt sorry for Finn and God forbid anyone spoke to my kids the way Ian spoke to him. I am so proud of how he turned out in the end and showed his strength. I really liked Susy's character who was a really good friend to Nic. Another character who really stood out for me was Leon and I'm so happy for the way things went for him too.


Congratulations Sam on what promises to be a HUGE success and I hope your busy writing your next novel as I for one cannot wait!!! I would love to see this book turned into a movie and I can guarantee it will be a huge hit!!


Overall an unputdownable, nail biting, page turning psychological thriller with explosive twists



Genres covered in this book include Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Psychological Fiction and Crime Fi amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'The Girl On The Train' and anyone looking for a suspense packed page turner



343 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@SamHepburn @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86











Author Bio:


Sam Hepburn read modern languages at Cambridge University and, after a brief spell in advertising, joined the BBC as a General Trainee. She worked as a documentary maker for twenty years and was one of the commissioners for the launch of BBC Four. Since then, she has written several books, including psychological thrillers Gone Before and Her Perfect Life, and novels for young adults and children. She won the 2017 CWA Margery Allingham Short Story award and has been nominated for several other prestigious prizes, including the CILIP Carnegie Medal for her YA thrillers.

Sam has worked and travelled widely in Africa and the Middle East, and is a trustee of the Kenyan’s children’s charity, I Afrika. She now lives in London with her husband and children.

Author Social Media Links:

Twitter:



FACEBOOK:







BUY LINKS:


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page