top of page

'A Death At Neptune Cove' by Emma Jameson

Updated: Oct 5, 2022

Book Description:


A birthday beach party gone wrong, buried treasure and… a dead body? This might be Jemima Jago’s most baffling case yet!


When Jem knocks on the door of an isolated cottage overlooking beautiful Neptune Cove, she’s hoping for help fixing a birthday cake baking disaster. She’s not expecting to find the tenant dead on the tiled floor, specks of blood on the collar of his navy-and-red satin pajamas…


The victim is Arthur Ajax, a handsome and wealthy American businessman who arrived in the Isles of Scilly as a tourist ten months ago and never left. There have been rumors about him in town, as he was known for his extravagant lifestyle. Perhaps he’d gone overboard, or could his death be connected to an unpaid debt?


Later that same evening, Jem stumbles across a hoard of buried jewelry, dug up from the dunes by little dog Buck, and she immediately wonders if they could be connected to the rich man’s murder. It’s not every day you find expensive—and very real-looking—sapphire earrings stashed away in an antique biscuit tin!


Jem seeks help from a local jewelry expert to identify the gems. But when he suddenly goes missing, Jem knows someone is trying to cover their tracks. Can she catch the killer before he makes her walk the plank too?


A completely gripping cozy page-turner set in the beautiful Isles of Scilly, from the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Emma Jameson. Fans of M.C. Beaton, Faith Martin and Agatha Christie will be hooked by A Death at Neptune Cove.






BLOG TOUR REVIEW 



Review for 'A Death At Neptune Cove' by Emma Jameson. 



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Emma Jameson, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous 



Publication date 29th September 2022.



This is the fourth book I have read by this author. It is also the fourth book in the 'Jemima Jago Mystery' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read 'A Death At Seascape House' which is the first book in the 'Jemima Jago Mystery' series, 'A Death At Candlewick Castle' which is the second book in the series and 'A Death At Silversmith Bay' which is the third book in the series and I would highly recommend each one. 




I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of M.C. Beaton, Faith Martin and Agatha Christie will be hooked by A Death at Neptune Cove.'. I am a huge fan of Faith Martin and Agatha Christie so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Emma Jameson and if this is half as good as 'A Death At Seascape House', 'A Death At Candlewick Castle' and 'A Death At Silversmith Bay' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture  that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).



This novel consists of 28 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in Cornwall, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. The fact that this book is based in Cornwall is even better as I have been on holiday in Cornwall many times so may even recognise some places Emma has set the book around. 



This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist being Jemima Jago, Rhys Tremayne and Pauley Gwyn. The benefits of third person perspective especially with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. 



Yet another absolutely fantastic read from the very talented Emma Jameson!!! Well done Emma 👏 👏 👏!!! 




This book was very well written and the vivid descriptions really made me feel that I was in Cornwall with the sea air and sand all around me. It felt like a lovely mini holiday which was much needed!! The synopsis and cover worked perfectly with the storyline. I really liked that the chapters all had their own headings that resonated with the events of that chapter and many were direct quotes from the chapter itself and also quite amusing. 


 



The storyline itself is a mix of slow and fast paced, starting off quite slow and picking up speed throughout. I would liken it to to a rollercoaster with the first quarter being the build up as you get to the top and then the rest of the ride being fast paced filled with twists, turns, some suspense, tension and a shock at the end!! One I never expected which I am very pleased to report, not a huge fan of books that I have it all figured out by 50%. I loved that it had so much book talk, which was to be, if not expected then definitely hoped for as our protagonist is a librarian. This is a perfect beach read or one to curl up with in front of a fire. The setting and atmosphere is perfectly portrayed for a cozy mystery. This book is such an easy read with the words flowing I just could not put it down. I absolutely love the atmosphere and really feel like Cornwall is becoming my second home. I'm especially looking forward to visiting again in real life next year and will be keeping an eye on some of the places mentioned in the book to see if I recognise anywhere Emma based the storyline on. Emma's first two books are based in St. Morwenna and her third book in Penzance so it was  pleasant surprise to be exploring Bryher in this book. I am definitely looking forward to returning to Morwenna but also exploring more of Penzance. I actually find it quite delightful that I have now got 3 places to look forward to visiting every time I step into Emma and Jem's adventures!!! I loved that in this book we get to see what is going on through the eyes of Paulie and Rhys and see how they are feeling and hope Emma continues in this theme in the next book. It would be interesting to see more of what Hugh is feeling and seeing too. I absolutely adore the Jem Jago series and am thoroughly looking forward to reading the next book in this fantastic series that I have loved from the start!!! 



Although this is the fourth book in the series I had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.    



The characters were an eclectic mix. I must admit I'm not quite sure what to make of Jem at the start of the series as at times I quite enjoyed her strong willed personality and she has definitely grown more on me since first meeting her in 'A Death At Seascape Hoise'. However, since reading 'A Death At Candlewick Castle', 'A Death At Silversmith Bay' and now this fantastic read I can definitely say I am now one of her biggest fans!! I absolutely adore her attitude and love watching her relationships with friends and more grow, develop and change over the books. It was intriguing to see that Jem and Rhys are finally in a relationship but it will be interesting to see how long it lasts with Hack on the scene who is obviously not happy about this development!! However, I do think that what she did towards to the end of the book will cause a shift in their friendship so I'm definitely looking forward to what happens next!! It has also been intriguing watching Kenzie grow and her attitude change as she develops. Although she did seem to be a bit of a brat a few times there were other points where she showed her maturity. However, nobody can really blame her for acting out with a mother like Lissa. Lissa is a complete embarrassment and should be ashamed of how she acts especially being a mother. I would be mortified if she was my sister let alone mum!! Bart is his usual self in this book, some things never change and I'm glad they don't. My heart went out to Clarence in this book who is a larger than life character and who I have really bonded with from the start. I bonded with Micki immediately in the first book and loved meeting her larger than life character again along with Hack. Pauley and Rhys in both the following books. They have turned into friends for me and I look forward to meeting them every time. They all have their own quirks and habits and all work perfectly together. I loved meeting the newer characters again in this series especially Tori who I am looking forward to getting to know more and one cannot forget about Wotsit who is just a typical, but memerable, cat!!. So much to look forward to in the next epic adventure, I just cannot wait!!! Their team dynamic works really well and i have become completely invested in them. 



A huge congratulations to Emma on yet another successful novel. This is exactly why you are one of my favourite authors and here's to the next book in this explosive series 🥂 



This is exactly why this series is one of my favourite and you Emma are on og my favourite authors!!! 



Overall an intriguing, page turning, cosy mystery in an idyllic setting which will keep you hooked throughout. 



Genres covered in this novel include Mystery, Thriller, Cozy Crafts & Hobbies Mystery, Cozy Culinary Mystery, Cozy Animal Mystery, Suspense, Murder, Police Procedural, Crime Thriller and Cozy Mystery amongst others. 



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Faith Martin, Clare Chase, M.C. Beaton, Fliss Chester, Agatha Christie and anyone looking for a page turning cosy mystery!!! 




274 pages.



This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited and £7.99 in paperback (at time of review) which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 



Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 




@EmmaJameson  @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 






  








 





Author Bio:


Emma Jameson writes mysteries that readers call witty, romantic, and full of surprises. An aspiring novelist since age seven, she took a long, twisty route to the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists. After years of working at a major medical center, her first novel, cobbled together on nights and weekends, became a runaway e-book bestseller. Now she writes full-time and has sold over half a million books. A compulsive reader and information hoarder, Emma is always searching for that fascinating nugget or startling fact that will spark another novel. A lifelong Anglophile, she resides in the United States, where she enjoys swimming, yoga, and serving the needs of not one, not two, not three, but four cats.







Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Emma Jameson here: https://www.bookouture.com/emma-jameson



Buy Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo






8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page