top of page

A Death At Bay View Hotel by Emma Jameson. Review



A Death at Bay View Hotel: A completely addictive English cozy mystery novel (A Jemima Jago Mystery Book 5)




Book Description


Join Jemima Jago—librarian, cake lover and fearless super-sleuth—on her next puzzling case, when an entry at a baking competition proves delicious… but deadly!


It’s time for the Bay View Hotel’s annual bake-off and Jem is looking forward to sampling all the cake she can. But when head judge and successful local critic Lemmy Beaglehole drops dead in the middle of tasting a chocolate gateau, Jem can’t resist throwing herself into the investigation.


Jem interviews everyone present and discovers that Lemmy had plenty of enemies at the bake-off and was famous for his venomous reviews. But who could have hated him enough to actuallypoisonhim? Was it the long-suffering hotel manager? The local busybody who hated Lemmy enough to stage a protest over his inclusion as head judge? Or the aspiring baker, whose dreams of running his own pastry shop were dashed by a terrible review?


Finding a crumpled rose-patterned envelope that may have contained the poison, Jem feels certain she’s close to the truth. But when a huge storm blows in over the Isles of Scilly, trapping everyone—bake-off contestants, staff and guests—in the hotel overnight, Jem must work fast to untangle the clues and catch the killer before their next toxic treat ends up on her plate!


A fun and page-turning cozy mystery set in the beautiful Isles of Scilly, from the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Emma Jameson. Fans of Agatha Christie, Faith Martin and Betty Rowlands will be utterly hooked!




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'A Death At Bay View Hotel' by Emma Jameson.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Emma Jameson, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 24th August 2024.


This is the fifth book I have read by this author. It is also the fifth book in the 'Jemima Jago Mystery' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read 'A Death At Seascape House' (book 1 in this series), 'A Death At Candlewick Castle' (book 2 in this series), 'A Death At Silversmith Bay' (book 3 in this series) and 'A Death At Neptune Cove' (book 4 in this aeries) which is the third book in the series and I would highly recommend each one!!



This novel consists of 23 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



Yet another absolutely fantastic read from the very talented Emma Jameson!!! Well done Emma 👏 👏 👏!!!



This book was very well written and the vivid descriptions really made me feel that I was in Cornwall with the sea air and sand all around me. It felt like a lovely mini holiday which was much needed!! The synopsis and cover worked perfectly with the storyline. I really liked that the chapters all had their own headings that resonated with the events of that chapter and many were direct quotes from the chapter itself and also quite amusing.

I absolutely love this fantastic series and every time I finish one book I immediately start missing the location and the characters. I have no idea how Emma does it but each and every time she brings out another book in this series it's even better than the one before!!! This fantastic addition is no exception and surpassed my expectations. I found this storyline to be a lot faster paced than 'A Death At Neptune Cove' and it jumps straight into he action with Jem being trapped at Bay View Hotel after a storm cuts off all transport and telephone lines. It is absolutely ram packed with twists, turns, cakes, murder , arguments, romance, humour, drama, secrets, lies, suspense, tension and absolutely everything that you could ever ask for in a gorgeous cosy crime that is ideal to read cuddled up on the sofa nice and warm while listening to the thunderstorm over the Bay View hotel! I was absolutely gob smacked by the ending as it was one I definitely never expected which I am very pleased to report as I love a page turner with an unexpected ending!!! I am not a huge fan of books that I have it all figured out by 50% which I have never had a problem with when it comes to the fantastic Emma's books!!! I loved that it had so much book talk, which was to be, if not expected then definitely hoped for as our protagonist is a librarian. This is a perfect beach read or one to curl up with in front of a fire. The setting and atmosphere is perfectly portrayed for a cozy mystery. This book is such an easy read with the words flowing I just could not put it down. I absolutely love the atmosphere and really feel like Cornwall is becoming my second home. I'm especially looking forward to visiting again in real life next month and will be keeping an eye on some of the places mentioned in the book to see if I recognise anywhere Emma based the storyline on. Emma's first two books are based in St. Morwenna, her third book in Penzance, her fourth explores Bryher in this book and this book is based in the Bay view hotel which is located on the westernmost tip of St. Martin’s and overlooking the Celtic Sea on the Isles of Scilly. The plot is set at the Bay View Hotel which gives the reader a locked room mystery theme. I am a HUGE fan of locked room crime books as it makes it more fun to try and work out the killer when there are fewer characters potentially involved and you get to know the characters a bit more than you usually would. I absolutely LOVE this series for so many reasons and one of them is the fact that Emma has taken me to do many different parts of Cornwall and I am intrigued every time I pick up the next book to find out where she will take me next!!! I have explored Morwenna, Penzance, Bryher and now have been taken to the Isles of Scilly. Where will my next holiday with Emma be? This book had me on the edge of my seat but also had me laughing until I got some very strange looks from my partner so make sure your not walking around or near the public when reading, especially when drinking tea!!! Some of the goings on and characters had me in absolute stitches!!! Another amazing adventure with Jem and I gutted to be coming to the end of what felt like a holiday (even though in this one I was stranded in a hotel, it was with amazing characters and definitely worth it!!).


Although this is the fifth book in the series I had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


The characters were an eclectic mix. I must admit I was not quite sure what to make of Jem at the start of the series as at times I quite enjoyed her strong willed personality and she has definitely grown more on me since first meeting her in 'A Death At Seascape House'. However, since finishing 'A Death At Candlewick Castle' and reading every book since 'A Death At Silversmith Bay' I can definitely say I am now one of her biggest fans!! I absolutely LOVE her personality her attitude and love watching her relationships with friends and more grow, develop and change over the books. I am so pleased that Jem and Rhys are finally in a relationship but they have such different ways of doing things, as seen at the start of this book, it will be interesting to see how long it lasts with Hack still on the scene!! I absolutely love both Rhys (although there's no way I could tolerate living with him) and Hack and loved meeting them both again along with the gorgeous Buck (Rhys' dog). I am a huge animal lover so any books that contain animals as part of their plot are always a huge hit for me and although we don't see Buck as much in this book I'm looking forward to seeing more of him in the next ones. I absolutely loved meeting Pauley and Micki again in this book who I have been invested in since my very first meeting with them. They both have such larger than life personalities and they are definitely strong women I wouldn't want to mess with. I missed Kenzie in this book and is another character I'm hoping to see more of in the next books as it has been lovely watching her grow and mature from the start. They have all become like close friends to me and each time I have to say goodbye after turning the last page I miss them immediately. They all have their own quirks and habits and all work perfectly together. There were several other characters in this book that all played their parts perfectly but I will end the review here as I don't want to give anything away. Needless to say each character was realistic and were all in the storyline for a reason and not just added to bulk the book up. A fantastic gang of characters that all come to life with Emma's fantastic evocative writing skills.



A huge congratulations to Emma on yet another successful novel. This is exactly why you are one of my favourite authors and here's to the next book in this explosive series 🥂!!!


This is exactly why this series is one of my favourite and you Emma are on of my favourite authors!!! Don't start this book without clearing your schedules as once you start you will be hooked!!!


Overall another addictive, explosive, fun and action packed page turner in a fun and crime filled series!!!



238 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £7.99 in paperback via Amazon (at time of review) which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@ADeathAtBayViewHotel @AJemimaJagoMystery @EmmaJameson @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited @BookoutureAudio



























Author bio:



Emma Jameson writes mysteries that readers call witty, romantic, and full of surprises. An aspiring novelist since age seven, she took a long, twisty route to the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists. After years of working at a major medical center, her first novel, cobbled together on nights and weekends, became a runaway e-book bestseller. Now she writes full-time and has sold over half a million books. A compulsive reader and information hoarder, Emma is always searching for that fascinating nugget or startling fact that will spark another novel. A lifelong Anglophile, she resides in the United States, where she enjoys swimming, yoga, and serving the needs of not one, not two, not three, but four cats.



Social media Links



Website


Facebook


Instagram


Twitter


Newsletter






Purchase Link







2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page