top of page

'A Dangerous Goodbye' by Fliss Chester

A'A Dangerous Goodbye 'by Fliss Chester

Publication date:20th August

Book Description:

Your lost love never came home after the war. Would you risk everything to find out what happened to him?

1944. While war rages in Europe, Fenella Churche is doing her bit in the green fields of England. But when she finds a letter addressed to her on the scrubbed farmhouse table, she knows the news won’t be good. She hasn’t heard from her fiancé Arthur since he was posted to France on a dangerous undercover mission, and from his very first words she knows he may not be coming back.

I fear this may be my last letter to you, my darling, Arthur writes. Fen won’t give up hope and calls the war office, wanting to know if Arthur is still alive; they refuse to tell her anything. Searching for answers, she returns to his letter, but parts of it just don’t make sense. Through her tears Fen realises that her darling Arthur is giving her all the clues she needs to find out what happened to him.

1945. With the war behind them and nothing left for her in England, Fen travels to the deceptively pretty French village where she thinks Arthur might be, but there’s no sign of him. She’s close to giving up when she finds his silver cigarette case and another letter full of clues. But when the local priest is killed, it’s clear someone wants to keep wartime secrets buried. If Arthur, a brilliant spy, was outwitted and betrayed, can Fen stay alive long enough to find out what happened to the man she loves?

A gripping story of war, mystery, espionage and murder. Fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd and Rhys Bowen will absolutely adore this unputdownable World War Two murder mystery.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW

Review for 'A Dangerous Goodbye' by Fliss Chester

Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous

Publication date 20th August 2020

This is the first book that I have read by this author. This is also the first book in the 'Fen Churche Mystery' series.

I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful cover, interesting title & intriguing blurb. It is also different to the typical crime genre I normally read so it looked like a good opportunity to expand my genres. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).

This novel consists of 29 chapters and an epilogue which are a nice length so that you can read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!

This book is written from third person point of view and the protagonist is Fen (Fenella Church). It is set in England and mainly France.

I love the fact that the protagonist is female, being one myself, and that she has a strong personality and will not back down no matter what is thrown at her, including 3 murders!!!

The plot is intriguing and filled with mystery, spies, lies, romance, murder and more!!! It has plenty to keep the reader interested and has lots of little clues to help point to the killer. I didn't guess who the murderer was so bonus points there! Nothing worse than working out the killer less than half way through a book. Although the book is a crime one I thought it was still quite a light hearted read and I enjoyed the lovely descriptions and the feeling it gave me of being in France. The murders themselves were quite interesting and not straight forward death's and I love the cryptic clues left by Arthur.

The characters were all very interesting with heir own personalities, strengths and flaws and Estelle made me laugh on several occasions with he her strong personality and attitude.

Overall a very well written post war crime novel that was easy to read and kept me guessing throughout.

Genres covered include Historical, Romance and Mystery.

I would recommend this book to fans of the above genres and anyone looking for an interesting clue finding novel.

277 pages.

This book is 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!

Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.

Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews

#ADangerousGoodbye #FlissChester #Bookouture #NetGalley #BookReview #BlogTour #BooksOnTour @FlissChester @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86

https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86

https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks




Author Bio:

Fliss Chester lives in Surrey with her husband and writes historical cozy crime. When she is not killing people off in her 1940s whodunnits, she helps her husband, who is a wine merchant, run their business. Never far from a decent glass of something, Fliss also loves cooking (and writing up her favourite recipes on her blog), enjoying the beautiful Surrey and West Sussex countryside and having a good natter.

Twitter: @SocialWhirlGirl https://flisschester.co.uk/ https://www.facebook.com/flisschester



Buy Links:

Amazon: https://bit.ly/33V7Rrh Apple: https://apple.co/3gVq2Ad Kobo: https://bit.ly/2WiGBym Google: https://bit.ly/3gU1zfe

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page