top of page

'A Cut For A Cut' by Carol Wyer



Description

DI Kate Young can’t trust anybody. Not even herself. In the bleak countryside around Blithfield Reservoir, a serial murderer and rapist is leaving a trail of bloodshed. His savage calling card: the word ‘MINE’ carved into each of his victims. DI Kate Young struggles to get the case moving—even when one of the team’s own investigators is found dead in a dumpster. But Kate is battling her own demons. Obsessed with exposing Superintendent John Dickson and convinced there’s a conspiracy running deep in the force, she no longer knows who to trust. Kate’s crusade has already cost her dearly. What will she lose next? When her stepsister spills a long-buried secret, Kate realises she’s found the missing link—now she must prove it before the killer strikes again. With enemies closing in on all sides, she’s prepared to do whatever it takes to bring them down. But time is running out, and Kate's past has pushed her to the very edge. Can she stop herself from falling?






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'A Cut For A Cut' by Carol Wyer.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Carol Wyer and Thomas & Mercer publishers.


Publication date 29th June 2021.


This is the fifth book I have read by this author. It is also the second book in the 'DI Kate Young' series and although I have read the first book called 'A Cut For A Cut' and highly recommended it, it can also be read as a standalone. I have also previously Carol's 'Detective Natalie Ward' series which I would also highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its gorgeous eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. I am also a huge fan of Carol and if this is half as good as any of her previous books it is sure to be a fantastic read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Aberration Press Books. I have yet to read a book published by Thomas & Mercer that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 38 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in Staffordshire, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited Staffordshire on several occasions so am looking forward to see if I recognise anywhere


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is DI Kate Young. I enjoy books written in third person with several protagonists as it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters.


OMG!!!! ANOTHER ABSOLUTE PAGE TURNER!!! What are you doing to me!!!!! Seriously!!!!! I hope you are writing your next book as I write this!!! I'm talking to you Mrs Wyer!!!!! Right, yes, well anyway let's give you my review....



Carol Wyer does it again!!! Fantastically written as always ensuring a smooth and easy read that sucks you straight into the pages. Vivid descriptions put me in the middle of the action looking at everything going on in High definition. The cover and synopsis works perfectly with the storyline.



The storyline itself was very fast paced, rammed full of action, murder, mystery, suspense, tension and twists and turns. At least three major bombshells of unexpected twists which I was not expecting (a rarity to surprise me after the amount of crime books I've read but Carol does it without fail every time!!!) and a major cliffhanger at the end!!! I CANNOT WAIT for the next in this series. The storyline was realistic so easily imagined and the killings themselves were unique which is definitely a positive when you have read the same ones over and over again!! An absolutely addictive and compelling page turner!!! If your going to start reading this then clear your schedules because it is absolutely unputdownable!!!!



Loved meeting all the characters again!! Kate is absolutely amazing, an extremely strong female lead who didn't hold back the punches while going through hell herself after the trauma she had been through. I always love it when an author brings in strong women. I also liked Katie's personality and really felt for her in several occasions. I'm still not quite sure what I think of Morgan at the moment, he annoyed me on several occasions so I'll leave him on the shelf for now until I get to know him more. However he did make me laugh on a few occasions and his headbutting with Jamie was certainly entertaining. Jamie is another character who I'm not sure about, sometimes he seemed OK and then he gave me a bit of a funny feeling and not in a good way so it'll be interesting to see what he is up to. Emma is another strong woman who I really enjoyed meeting again and getting to know more abut her. I'm still not sure what I thought of William either, I thought I liked him on introduction but I have a strange feeling about him. I absolutely adored Ervin who made me laugh on several occasions!!! He is such a unique character and one you won't forget for a while. Regardless of who I did or didn't like they were all very strong and well defined characters who I'm looking forward to meet in the next 'episode'. A great team who I feel may butt heads in the future.



I am really looking forward to the next book and would LOVE to see this made into a movie!!! It would definitely be a best seller along with this amazing novel which kept me up late at night (early in the morning) as I just could not put it down!!!!



Overall an addictive, explosive page turning start to what promises to be an epic series!!!


Genres covered in this novel include Thriller, Police Procedural and Crime Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as Angela Marsons, Tess Gerritsen, anyone looking for a good book and YOU!!



365 pages.


This book is just £3.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@CarolWyer @Thomas&Mercer @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









About the Author

USA Today bestselling author and winner of The People’s Book Prize Award, Carol Wyer’s crime novels have sold over 800,000 copies and been translated into nine languages. A move from humour to the ‘dark side’ in 2017 saw the introduction of popular DI Robyn Carter in Little Girl Lost, and proved that Carol had found her true niche. Carol has been interviewed on numerous radio shows discussing ‘Irritable Male Syndrome’ and ‘Ageing Disgracefully’, and on BBC Breakfast television. She has written for Woman’s Weekly, Take A Break, Choice, Yours, Woman’s Own and HuffPost. She currently lives on a windy hill in rural Staffordshire with her husband, Mr Grumpy…who is very, very grumpy. When she is not plotting devious murders, she can be found performing her comedy routine, Smile While You Still Have Teeth. To learn more about Carol, go to www.carolwyer.co.uk or follow Carol on Twitter: @carolewyer. Carol also blogs at www.carolwyer.com.





11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page