top of page

A Courtesan's Worth by Felicity George. Guest Post


Check out this absolutely gorgeous looking and sounding book!!! I'm gutted I couldn't squeeze a review in but read on for a guest post!


To learn more about this book, read more about Felicity and get your copy just keep reading.


If you want to see your book shared on social media like this one please get in touch.



@ACourtesansWorth @FelicityGeorge @OrionDash @HachetteUK @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @GuestPost @BlogTour @BooksOnTour @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @Bookblogger




Book Description


A mistress cannot marry for love...


As one of the famous Preece sisters, Kitty is the most sought-after courtesan in London. But with the

vicious Duke of Gillingham scaring away any man who looks her way, securing a new arrangement

with a wealthy gentleman will be no easy feat. Kitty's only hope to find someone suitable is through

her loyal and cherished friend, the Reverend Sidney Wakefield.


Sidney has devoted his life to the church, but it was never by choice. He is a writer and Kitty his

muse. As he is roped into Kitty's plotting, he begins to realise that protecting her from the

malevolent Duke comes at a price - and it might mean losing Kitty to someone else entirely.


As Kitty and Sidney try to find a way out, it becomes clear that years of friendship have developed

into something deeper. Except that they are from different worlds and Kitty's heart has never been

hers to give away...





Guest Post


4. The Writing Life: Balancing Creativity and the Real World


As a child, when I dreamed of being an author, I imagined book signings and publicity tours.

I envisioned myself having a glamourous or eccentric persona. An all-black wardrobe,

perhaps. I’d sip cocktails in the evening at my typewriter, with the windows to a charming

flat open to the city sounds. Naturally, I’d frequently need to consult with screenwriters,

playwrights and directors over the stage and film adaptations of my novels. Art would infuse

every aspect of my life.


As with too many of our hopes and ambitions, the reality hasn’t quite mirrored the

dream – and that’s okay. Experiences in life are what we make of them.


Balancing creativity with real world responsibilities is challenging. One of the hardest

things about being a novelist is that I must structure my own day. I’m given several months to

produce a draft of my next book, and my success or failure entirely depends upon sticking to

timelines and goals I must devise myself. Furthermore, writing must come after some of my

other responsibilities, such as teaching drama, co-managing a business with my husband, and

taking care of my family. Fortunately, writing inspires me, which helps me stick with the

deadlines. It’s something I feel the need to do, like eating or exercising. Without it, my life

would be bleak …


My typical Monday to Friday starts by getting my teens and husband out the door. Once

they leave, I check emails, social media, and take care of other business, to get it out of the

way. Then I start my first writing session. For me, the best way to write is to set a timer on

my computer for between one and two hours, and not let myself leave my word document

until that timer ends. I usually eat a combined breakfast/lunch after my first session. I’ll

have another quick look at other business matters, and then I do a second timer.


My second break usually involves a walk with the dog (excellent for working out plot

problems) and then back to another timer. By the time that one’s done, my kids are home from school. I can usually grab a bit more time to write in the evenings, but I don’t set a

timer then because I know I’m likely to be interrupted.


The truth is, I rarely have a day with three focused sessions, but, so far, as long as I can

get between two to four hours of focused writing time for five days of the week, I’ve been

able to meet all my deadlines. One day, when my kids are older, I hope to be able to write

more often, but for now, this works. The important things are not to get frustrated with

myself on days when I’m less productive, and not to let myself get too distracted by social

media – which is a tricky balance, because I’ve connected with amazing author friends and

fabulous readers on social media. And Twitter conversations during the day help to break

up what can otherwise be a lonely job!


Every night before bed, I read. Since becoming a writer, it’s a bit more difficult to read

entirely for pleasure – at least some portion of my brain will be dissecting the book. Some

nights my husband and I will also watch a show or film, and, even then, I’ll study them for

the character arcs and plot structure. My husband’s great about talking these things over

with me, and it’s a lovely bonding activity, which makes watching television together less

passive than it used to be, before I started writing.


On weekends, I try not to write much. I choose instead to interact with my family, take

care of the house, and spend time with my friends. When I’m really lucky, I’ll have a re-

enacting event or English line dancing session to enjoy! I love dressing up in Regency

clothes and pretending to be a character in my books – and my husband is a great sport about

joining in.


When I do have an event that sort-of fits the childhood dream – a lunch with my editor

or my agent, a publishing party, chats with other authors, a blog tour – I reward my inner

child by valuing the experience, even when it’s nothing outside the ordinary. I owe it to that little girl who dreamed big dreams, and decided not to give up on them, even when the real

world intervenes.





Author Bio


Felicity George is a writer and teacher from Toronto, where she lives with her husband,

her two teenage children, a large cat, and a tiny dog. A lifelong devotee of Jane Austen and

Georgette Heyer, Felicity adores a happily-ever-after. A Courtesan’s Worth is book two in the

Gentlemen of London series.






Social Media Links


On Twitter: Felicity George https://twitter.com/ElizabethWelke


On Facebook: Felicity George, Author https://www.facebook.com/FelicityGeorgeRegencyRomance




Purchase Link









5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page