top of page

A Cocktail To Die For by Helen Golden. Review.


Book Description


Cocktails, chaos, and an unexpected twist. Can Perry and his hens unveil the truth before time

runs out?


Death at Prestigious Hotel and Spa, Chasingham House


We are hearing reports that a young woman has been found dead at Chasingham House, the

exclusive venue in the Cotswolds. She has not been named, and the cause of death is unknown at this

time. This will no doubt cast a cloud over the bachelor weekend being hosted there by Lady Beatrice

(36), the Countess of Rossex, for her business partner Perry Juke (34) ahead of his wedding to

bestselling author and celebrity chef Simon Lattimore (40). Also staying at Chasingham House are top

models Camile Redmaine (35) and Mel Parks (35), who are celebrating newly-single Cammy’s

birthday with a group of friends.


When one of the birthday girls is found dead in her room, it’s clear Bea plans for her, Perry, and

their friends to chill around the pool, have a few treatments, and generally relax, seem to have gone

down the drain. When the local police are quick to dismiss the death as an accident, Bea is

determined to help investigate anyway, along with the rest of Perry’s party.


Can Perry and his hens catch the killer before the weekend is over and the trail goes cold?




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'A Cocktail To Die For' by Helen Golden.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Helen Golden, Rachel's Random Resources and Drew Bradley Press.


Publication date 9th December 2023.


This novel consists of 34 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS TO HELEN ON A PAGE TURNING SUCCESS!!


An absolutely successful unputdownable cosy mystery by the very talented Helen Golden!! This may be the first book I have read by Helen but it most definitely won't be my last and I am looking forward to getting stuck into the previous 6 books in this series as well as the future books to come!! The covers themselves are all absolutely stunning and grab the attention immediately!! The storyline had me hooked immediately and I love the way that Lady Beatrice, Detective Chief Inspector Emma McKeer-Adler, Perry Juke, Ellie Gunn, Claire Beck go about their detective work. There was so much going on that it kept me entertained thoroughly throughout with mystery after mystery and clue after clue. It was filled with suspense, mystery, laughter, murder, alcohol, clues, fun, friendship, red herrings, deceit. tension, suspense and so much more!! It is absolutely perfect to read either curled in front of the fire or lying on a beach which not many books can achieve. I devoured it in one sitting as I just could not put it down and gave up on lying to myself saying just one more chapter as that never happened!! The atmosphere was perfectly suited to the mystery and I love the fact that this book takes us on a spa holiday into the stunning Chasingham House tasting cocktails, swimming in the pool and scouring around for clues. Helen's gorgeous evocative writing skills and descriptions whisked me off to the prestigious private member's hotel and spa and even with the murder I was gutted when I came to the end and not only had to leave some amazing characters but also the gorgeous hotel!! I also love the fact that although this is a cosy mystery it also had me in stitches of laughter on so many occasions which makes it the perfect light hearted read!! If your looking for a cocktail filled murder mystery, a not Lady who investigates crime with an attitude and a lighthearted lots of fun then look no further!!



Although this is the seventh book in the series I had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


The characters were all larger than life, realistic and a complete breathe of fresh air. Lady Beatrice is an amazing character, very bubbly and certainly not your typical 'Lady', she is absolutely unique as well as a very strong female lead which is a great bonus for myself being female. I absolutely adore her relationship with Emma along with the rest of her "staff" that she treats more like friends. The only downfall is that herself and the rest of the characters are fictional as these are a great group of characters I would absolutely LOVE to meet in real life!! Perry is absolutely fantastic and I really enjoy how he makes me laugh with his sulks, inability to be subtle and sarcasm at times. Perry and Beatrice are like the perfect comedy duo!! I also love the relationship between Beatrice and Emma and although Emma is employed to protect Lady Beatrice they are more like friends. I also loved Detective Sergeant Vic Meed who is completely overworked and treated like a child by the horrid DCI Alan Rivers but still such a gentleman and made me smile on several occasions. I cannot wait to meet most of the characters again in the previous books and the next book in this fantastic series which is called 'Dying To Bake' and will be published in March 2024!!! I would also like to add that Helen has added a list of characters in order of appearance in the back of the book which included some information on each of them. I found this very useful to refer to so thank you Helen for including this!!!


A huge congratulations on a huge success Helen!!! If you are looking for a cosy mystery that has everything that you could ask for in a book and more then look no further!!! This is exactly why I would like to welcome you to my favourite author club! Here's to your next guaranteed success 🥂!


Overall a fun and easy to read page turning cozy murder mystery with the perfect amount of crime and humour that will keep you hooked throughout.


206 pages.


This book is just £3.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £8.99 in paperback via Amazon (at time of review) which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@ACocktailToDieFor @ARightRoyalCozyInvestigationMystery @HelenGolden @HelenGoldenAuthor @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited














Author Bio


Hello. I’m Helen Golden. I write British contemporary cozy whodunnits with a hint of humour. I live

in small village in Lincolnshire in the UK with my husband, my step-daughter, her two cats, our two

dogs, sometimes my step-son, and our tortoise.


I used to work in senior management, but after my recent job came to a natural end I had the

opportunity to follow my dreams and start writing. It's very early in my life as an author, but so far

I'm loving it.


It’s crazy busy at our house, so when I’m writing I retreat to our caravan (an impulsive lockdown

purchase) which is mostly parked on our drive. When I really need total peace and quiet, I take it to a

lovely site about 15 minutes away and hide there until my family runs out of food or clean clothes



Social Media Links










Purchase Links







7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page