top of page

A Child For Sale by Pam Howes. Review


Book Description:


I reach out, arms aching to hold my newborn baby, and catch just a glimpse of soft, dark-brown hair before someone pushes me back onto the bed. ‘It’s alive,’ says the woman who delivered my child before she places something over my face. My last thought is of my baby’s first cry before my world goes dark.


1964. When seventeen-year-old Laura Sims realises she’s pregnant, her boyfriend Pete says they will look after and love their baby together; but Laura’s mother turns on them in fury. Wrenched from her home and the boy she loves Laura is thrown into a home for unmarried mothers. With no access to the outside world and treated harshly, Laura fights to keep her child safe and to find a way to escape the nightmare…


2015. Despite the anguish of losing their firstborn, Laura and Pete have been happily married for fifty years. But they’ve never given up on their lost child. And when Laura uncovers a tattered old diary from someone who worked at the home where she last saw her child, her heart breaks in two: those who ran the home sold their baby to a desperate, childless family.


Such cruel actions give Laura and Pete a tiny sliver of hope. Is there a chance to find their child, safe and happy, or will their search bring them only heartbreak and devastation?


A totally heart-wrenching and utterly gripping novel about how far a mother will go to find her child. Before We Were Yours, Sold on a Monday and The Orphan Train fans will be swept away by this gorgeous novel that reminds us to never give up on those we love.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'A Child For Sale' by Pam Howes.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Pam Howes, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 15th September 2023



This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Girls Of Victory House' which is the first book in Pam's 'The Bryant Sisters' series and I would highly recommend it.



This novel consists of 27 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!

'A Child For Sale' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Pam discusses cruelty to children, child trafficking, suicide and speaks of the death of children.


Wow!!! Yet another absolutely captivating heart warming and tear jerking stunning page turner ♥ Well done Pam on yet another stunning success!


This book is absolutely beautifully written and it had me absorbed from the first page to the last. The vivid and evocative descriptions really put me in the storyline with Clara and the children and the cover and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


This book has a unique storyline telling the stories of several young girls who were forced to move into 'The Pines', a home for unmarried mother's against their wills. I have never read a book with this storyline before and it was one that had me in rivers of tears on several occasions which is not an easy feat at all!!!! The most heartbreaking thing about this book is that sadly it is extremely realistic and after a quick Google search I can see that what happened to Laura, Anna and several other mothers in this book actually happened to mothers in homes such as Rosemundy House For Unmarried Mothers and Clevedon House, amongst others. There has also been news reports recently on mother's reuniting with their grown children after years or finding out that their real mothers passed away unknowingly to children. I have no idea whether Pam has researched these cases or even had experience of any of it happening to her but I genuinely wouldn't be surprised if either was the case as her extremely emotive writing skills really does ensure the reader feels what these mothers are going through. This book is a heart breaking dual timeline novel where we see Laura and her husband Pete as adults watching the news after a story has come to light about bones being buried in the gardens of the home where they were sent. We then move back in time to when Laura and Pete are teenagers in love and Laura has fallen pregnant. Her father has passed away and her disgraceful mother packs her off to the home rather than Laura "bringing shame" on her and the neighbours (another realistic attitude for this era). Pam weaves the storylines together perfectly and I was absolutely hooked throughout needing to know what happened next I'm each timeline. The storyline is filled with heartbreak, love, friendship, family, shocks, tension, twists,sadness, hope and much more. My mind and heart was completely captivated throughout and I couldn't stop turning the pages from start to end. I was completely shocked, sickened and saddened by certain events. OMG between everything that happens and the emotions flying around I was in absolute tears on so many occasions so make sure you have your tissues at the ready and clear your schedules as you will NOT be able to put this book down!!! I can't say any more than that as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. I cannot wait to get stuck into more books by Pam who has done such an amazing and beautiful job creating and bringing Laura, Pete, Anna, Mike and the rest of the amazing characters to life and I would love to see this book turned into a film!! This story will stay with me for life and THAT is how you know you have done an amazing job!!!



CLEAR YOUR SCHEDULES AND GRAB THE TISSUES AS YOU WILL BE UNABLE TO PUT THIS BOOK DOWN AND YOU WILL BE HOOKED ON THIS EMOTIONAL ROLLERCOASTER RIDE!!!


I was completely invested in each and every one of the characters although I absolutely despised many of the parents along with all the nuns except poor Olive. My heart broke for each of the mums who were forced into the hell that is The Pines!!! How these adults could treat these young mothers like they did, especially some of the parents made me absolutely sick to my stomach and I was so pleased that there was a handful of Angels scattered through this book. I have never needed a happy ending for characters as much as I needed it for these!!! The friendships and relationships that developed through the storm of the home were beautiful and it goes to show that where there is rain there are rainbows!!! I really can't say anything else without giving too much away so all I can say is grab your copy of this amazing page turner today and you won't regret it!!!



Congratulations Pam on yet another absolutely gorgeous book ♥ This is exactly why you are one of my favourite authors. I can't wait to read your next success 🥂


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first two chapters of Pam's 'The Girls Of Victory Street', which I'd the first book in the 'Bryant Sisters' and a book I have also read and would highly recommend!!



Overall an absolutely heart-warming, heart-breaking, soul lifting, emotional roller coaster ride of emotions and unputdownable book that will captivate your heart, body and mind.



271 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £6.99 in paperback at time of review via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@AChildForSale @PamHowes @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited



























Author Bio:


Pam Howes is a retired interior designer, mum to three daughters, grandma to seven assorted grandchildren and roadie to her musician partner.


The inspiration for Pam’s first novel came from her teenage years, working in a record store, and hanging around with musicians who frequented the business. The first novel evolved into a series about a fictional band, The Raiders. She is a fan of sixties music and it’s this love that compelled her to begin writing.




Social Media Links





Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Pam Howes here: https://www.bookouture.com/pam-howes




Purchase Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo







1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page