top of page

A Body In A Cornish Village by Dee MacDonald. Review



Book Description:


Cornish cream teas in the sun, dog walks on the beach and… a murder investigation? Can Kate Palmer – part-time nurse and cake-loving sleuth – solve her most baffling case yet? Kate Palmer is delighted when she learns that her home, the beautiful seaside village of Tinworthy, is the setting for a new TV show. She’s even more excited when she, her handsome husband Woody and her drama queen sister Angie are all invited to be extras. But when the cameras start rolling, the trio are in for a nasty surprise when the film’s writer and producer, Crispin Wyngarde, drops dead… Before long, rumours start flying and Angie is in the spotlight for murder. Kate knows her sister had a brief, stormy fling with Crispin during her younger days as an actress, but surely Angie couldn’t have hated him that much, could she? Kate is certain of her sister’s innocence, and is determined to prove it. But who would want to kill Crispin and set the stage for Angie to take the fall? Could it be Fergal, Angie’s jealous boyfriend? Sonja, the eccentric director, who had a love-hate relationship with Crispin? Or gorgeous Guy, the hairdresser who’s held a grudge against the problematic producer for years? Armed with a list of possible culprits, Kate sets out to interview everyone she can. Over cups of tea, secrets start to spill out about overheard conversations and mysterious money transfers. But just as Kate thinks she’s finally on the right track, her main suspect is found dead after a party in the village. To make matters worse, he’s one of Angie’s old flames too… Kate needs to solve the crime – and quick – to save her feisty sister. Can she untangle the clues and get to the truth, before it’s curtains down for Angie? If you love murder mysteries with a brilliant cast of characters, twisty plots and plenty of tea and cake, A Body in a Cornish Village will have you hooked until the very last page! Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Faith Martin and Joy Ellis.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'A Body In A Cornish Village' by Dee Macdonald.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Dee MacDonald, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 17th August 2023


This is the sixth book I have read by this author. It is also the seventh (and last :( ) book in the 'Kate Palmer' Mystery series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read 'A Body In Seaview Grange' (book 2 in the series) , 'A Body At The Tea Rooms' (book 3 in the series), 'A Body At The Altar' (book 4 in the series), 'A Body On The Beach' (book 5 in the series) and A Body At Lavender Cottage (book 6 in this series). I highly recommend every single on of them and am delighted to realise I actually never read the first book in this series so I am looking forward to going back to see where it all began!! I have no idea how I missed that or how I didn't realise but I am over the moon to meet the characters one last time!!




This novel consists of 46 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



Well done and thank You Dee on and for another successful cosy mystery and a gorgeous series!!! This book is very smoothly written with vivid descriptions which really help you see what's going on around you as well as the storyline. The blurb and the cover compliment the novel perfectly.


I absolutely LOVE this series and have become so invested in it, always reading the books in one sitting!!


OMG!!!!! Writing this review is such an emotional time for me as when I read Dee's acknowledgements at the end of the book I discovered that it is actually the LAST book in this amazing series and that sadly Kate's stores have now come to an end!!! I am absolutely devastated to say Goodbye as I have loved this series from the first book to the very last page in this one!! Unfortunately, all good things come to an end and although I would LOVE, LOVE, LOVE to see more books in this gorgeous series, I will also say that it was also a perfect ending to a perfect series!! This whole series has been set in the stunning location of Cornwall and I have loved exploring the area and it has given me some ideas of places to visit when I holiday in Cornwall, which I am actually doing in two weeks!! Dee's amazing and evocative writing skills really has brought everything to life all throughout this fantastic series and I have loved every single book. Thank you Dee for this absolutely brilliant series and although it may be the last story about Kate, Wood, Angie , Fergus and Barnie I cannot wait to see what you have up your sleeve for your next book, if it is anything like this series has been it is guaranteed yo be a success. Each book in this gorgeous series can be read as a standalone but to get the most out of the characters and storylines I would always recommend you read all the books in a series, and definitely when it comes to this one!!! This book really has been a perfect ending to this amazing series and has been filled with crime, mystery, laughter, love, friendship, suspense and absolutely everything you could ask for in a series and in a cosy mystery!!! As always, with each book in this series, there was no way I could finish just this chapter as even though I kept telling myself I would and then go to bed each chapter ended in a way where I just HAD to know what happened next and before I knew it I had devoured the whole book in one sitting in a few hours!!! The storyline was realistic which I always prefer as it makes it more enjoyable to read when you can see that it is something that could happen. This book is well constructed and traditional and what starts off as one murder becomes quite multi layered with all the characters backgrounds coming out. It was a very compelling read. I would never have guessed who did what and I was completely shocked by the mega twist. An absolutely fantastic read filled with suspense, mystery, twists and much more (I can't say much more as I don't want to spoil it for future readers) Congratulations Dee, it is getting harder and harder to surprise me and you did just that!!! This book has got to be the most heart racing ones in the series with Woody and Kate under threat and suspicions along with Angie and Fergus!!! AN absolutely spine tingling, heart racing page turner!!! If you have never read any books in this fantastic series then pick up your copy today!! Well done Dee on a fantastic, addictive and gorgeous series!!!


Clear your schedules and pick up this fantastic and explosive ending in this addictive series!!!


Although this is the seventh book in the series I would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


I loved meeting all the characters again who are a delightful mix of personalities with intriguing backgrounds and each one was very compelling. They have become like friends to me since I've started this series and I enjoy learning more about them each time. I really enjoyed the main characters of Kate, Woody, Angie and Fergus and think they really work well together as a team, well Kate and Woody. I have loved watching their relationship slowly develop from the beginning of the book and they have made a gorgeous couple. I am absolutely devastated that I wont get to see them again as they really have become like close friends to me and I have loved going on all of their adventures with them. I have also loved watching Angie and Fergus' explosive relationship going from one extreme to the other but in regards to this series this has got to be the best one when it comes to their relationship and although I am gutted it has ended and I will miss them too it definitely ended in a perfect way for these two huge characters!!! They both have massive personalities which will definitely not be forgotten any time soon!! I had mixed feelings about Fergus throughout this series but he definitely proved himself in this book and I think him and Angie definitely make a perfect couple that will have lots of ups and plenty of downs in the future but it is guaranteed never to be a boring relationship with them two!!! Dee's evocative writing skills really have brought each of these characters to life throughout this series and it is really saddening to say Goodbye but sadly all good things come to an end and although I am a bit reluctant to say it, as I would LOVE to see more books in this series, this book has ended in a way that is perfect to end what has been an absolutely amazing and gorgeous series. One of the characters that I have got to mention and that will also be very sadly missed has to be Barney (Kate's dog). I am a huge animal lover so any books that contain animals as part of their plot are always a huge hit for me and Barney has been there throughout do I will definitely be missing him!! I was hugely shocked by a certain character in this book, I wont name them as I don't want to spoil it for others!! I was not expecting that from them at all but finding out more I will say that I probably would have done the same, its just a shame what happened to them as one deserved it and the other didn't.....


An amazing group of realistic, strong and unique characters that I have loved getting to know in this amazing series and that will stay with me for a very long time!!!!



but I also enjoyed Kate and Angie relationship develop and am looking forward to see where it leads in the next book. I have mixed feelings with Fergus but he has definitely got a HUGE personality. I am certainly looking forward to reading more Dee McDonald's books especially the first which I still haven't got around to and any further books in this series. These characters really do make a huge impact, jumping out of the page and making you want to see what they get up to next!! A great team who I cannot wait to meet again!!


Congratulations Dee on yet another absolutely successful book, an absolutely perfect wending to what has been one of the best book series' that I have come across. Here's to your next success 🥂



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Agatha Christie, Joy Ellis, Faith Martin, Clare Chase, Verity Bright and anyone who enjoys a good mystery by the fire.



287 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £7.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@ABodyInACornishVillage @AKatePalmerMystery @DeeMacDonald @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited


























Author Bio:


Aged 18, Dee arrived in London from Scotland and typed her way round the West End for a couple of years before joining BOAC (forerunner of British Airways) in Passenger Services for 2 years and then as a stewardess for 8 years. She has worked in Market Research, Sales and at the Thames TV Studios when they had the franchise. Dee has since relocated to Cornwall, where she spent 10 years running B&Bs, and only began writing when she was over 70! Married twice, she has one son and two grandsons.



Social Media Links

Twitter: https://twitter.com/dmacdonaldauth Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Dee MacDonald here: https://www.bookouture.com/dee-macdonald



Buy Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page