top of page

'A Body At The Altar' by Dee MacDonald

Updated: Oct 23, 2021



Book Description:


Jilted grooms, sudden deaths, broken hearts and threatening letters. All in a day’s work for super sleuth Kate Palmer! Nurse Kate Palmer thought the pretty Cornish village of Tinworthy would be the perfect place for a peaceful retirement. She couldn’t have been more wrong! But even she is shocked when she attends a beautiful wedding at St. Pirin’s Church and the handsome groom drops dead in front of her very eyes. While the rest of the wedding party panics, Kate notices the strange behaviour of the not-so-blushing bride and the posh mother-in-law – and vows to find out the truth behind the poor young man’s sudden demise. Especially when the new detective Charlotte Martin makes it known that she doesn’t want Kate involved – and also shows an interest in Woody Forrest, Kate’s partner in crime-solving. Undeterred, Kate discovers this isn’t the only wedding to have been sabotaged. A series of peculiar letters contain the clues Kate needs to get to the heart of the matter. But is the mystery letter writer behind the unusual deaths? Or is more than one person responsible for the strange goings on in the seaside village… As Kate digs deeper, she adds more suspects to her growing list: the world-weary vicar, the unlucky-in-love cleaner and the bride’s former flame. But, as a pair of boots bring Kate closer to the killer, it becomes clear their investigation has placed Woody in danger. Can Kate solve the murder and save the man she loves at the same time? If you love cozy crime mysteries by Agatha Christie, Faith Martin or Joy Ellis, this page-turning novel will have you reading late into the night!




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'A Body At The Altar' by Dee Macdonald.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Dee MacDonald, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 18th October 2021.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'A Body In Seaview Grange' and 'A Body At The Tea Rooms' which I highly recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'If you love cozy crime mysteries by Agatha Christie, Faith Martin or Joy Ellis, this page-turning novel will have you reading late into the night!' I am a huge fan of all three of those authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Dee and if this is half as good as 'A Body In Seaview Grange' and 'A Body At The Tea Rooms' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 37 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Cornwall, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 , UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually been on holiday to Cornwall on several occasions so am looking forward to seeing if I recognise anywhere that Dee has based the book on.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Kate Palmer. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


Although this is the fourth book in the series I had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.



Well done Dee on another successful cosy mystery!!! This book is very smoothly written with vivid descriptions which really help you see what's going on around you as well as the storyline. The blurb and the cover compliment the novel perfectly.


The plot really sucked me in and I really enjoyed curling up on the sofa and getting dragged into this cosy mystery. I was so absorbed I read it in one sitting. The storyline was realistic which I always prefer as it makes it more enjoyable to read when you can see that it is something that could happen. This book is well constructed and traditional and what starts off as one murder becomes quite multi layered with all the characters backgrounds coming out. It was a very compelling read. I would never have guessed who did what and I was completely shocked by the mega twist. I absolutely adored the ending and actually clapped my hands at it!!! Absolutely amazing and so chuffed (can't say anymore as don't want to spoil it for future readers) Congratulations Dee, it is getting harder and harder to surprise me and you did just that!!! I must admit I wasn't shocked in the second book in this series so it just goes to show how Dee has definitely improved even further, as although I wasn't completely shocked in the previous book it still held some surprises!! I'm looking forward to the next book in this addictive series.


I loved meeting all the characters again who are a delightful mix of personalities with intriguing backgrounds and each one was very compelling. I really enjoyed the main characters of Kate, Woody and Angie and think they really worked well together as a team, well Kate and Woody but I also enjoyed Kate and Angie relationship develop and am looking forward to see where it leads in the next book. I have mixed feelings with Fergus but he has definitely got a HUGE personality and I enjoyed meeting Catherine too am looking forward to seeing her again. I am certainly looking forward to reading more Dee McDonald's books especially the first which I still haven't got around to and any further books in this series.


Congratulations Dee on another successful book, keep up the fantastic work and I look forward to meeting Dee, Woody, Angie, Fergal and Catherine again!!


Overall an intriguing and compelling cosy mystery that is perfect for Agatha Christie fans.



Genres covered in this novel include Mystery, Thriller, Cosy Mystery, Police Procedural and Crime Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Agatha Christie, Joy Ellis, Faith Martin and anyone who enjoys a good mystery by the fire.



272 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@DeeMacDonald @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Aged 18, Dee arrived in London from Scotland and typed her way round the West End for a couple of years before joining BOAC (forerunner of British Airways) in Passenger Services for 2 years and then as a stewardess for 8 years. She has worked in Market Research, Sales and at the Thames TV Studios when they had the franchise. Dee has since relocated to Cornwall, where she spent 10 years running B&Bs, and only began writing when she was over 70! Married twice, she has one son and two grandsons. https://twitter.com/dmacdonaldauth



Buy Link:



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page