top of page

A Blend Of Magic by Kate Kenzie. Review and Giveaway!!


Book Description


A witch cannot exist on potions and tea alone.


Hiding in the shadows, staunch singleton Willow Anderson is content running her successful

business, The Enchanted Emporium. With Christmas days away, she’s eager to exchange selling

bespoke tea blends and spells for extended bubble baths and binge-watching festive movies

snuggled next to her Maine Coon, Vincent.


Nate never usually runs away from his problems, but drunk and disorientated, he finds himself in a

small fisherman’s cottage in the Yorkshire coastal town of Whitby. After discovering his girlfriend’s

affair, he is in no rush to return to the City. His wish for time alone in a Christmas-free zone comes

true until an uninvited feline guest arrives.


Neither Nate nor Willow want company, especially from each other, but they have little choice when

concussion means they must spend at least twenty-four hours together. Sparks fly and not just the

romantic kind. When darkness from Willow’s past returns and threatens to destroy all she has

worked for, pursuing a love affair is the last thing she needs.


With meddling ghosts and a teenage apprentice with her own matchmaking agenda, love and

change are in the air.


But can Willow face her fears, and the past, to capture the happiness she deserves?






BOOK REVIEW



Review for 'A Blend Of Magic' by Kate Kenzie.



Read and reviewed for Kate Kenzie, Wytch's Yard and Rachel's Random Tours.



Publication date 20th October 2023.



This is the Kate's debut novel.


This novel consists of 53 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!




A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS TO KATE KENZIE ON AN ABSOLUTELY ADDICTIVELY PAGE TURNING MAGICAL GORGEOUS FANTASTIC READ. THIS HAS GOT TO BE THE MOST STUNNING DEBUT NOVEL I HAVE EVER READ!!!



The first thing I have got to say is an absolutely HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to the amazing author Kate!! I was absolutely mind blown when I had finished this epic page turner and I went to add the rest of her books to my Amazon wish list only to discover that THIS is her DEBUT novel!!! I mean just WOW fairplay!!! If THIS is what you can create for your very first book then I just cannot wait to see what on Earth you will come out with next!!!! This book is an absolutely stunning and unique storyline filled with magic, ghosts, romance, a ginger cat, family, love, drama, relationships, gothic settings, stunning descriptions and we'll just absolutely everything and more that you could ever ask for in a stunning page turner!!! I must admit that this is not my usual type of book but when I seen it I thought I would give it a try and I am extremely glad that I did as I absolutely LOVED IT!!! If this isn't the sort of book you would pick up then don't let that out you off, expand your literature genres and you will not regret it!!! This book had me hooked from the first page to the last. There was so much going on that I just couldn't stop turning the pages and as soon as I said just this last chapter and then bed something happened that meant I just had to read another one. The book is set in Whitby which is a place I have always fancied visiting but this amazing book made me realise that I have definitely got to book a holiday there!!! Although with Kate's stunning descriptions it feels like I have just come back from one already and I hated that I had to 'pack my case' back up and return to drizzly and flooding Wales when I came to the end!!! This beautifully crafted book with Kate's stunning imagination really made me feel that witches and magic were real and that I had disappeared into Willow's world with her!!

Kate's fantastic, talented and evocative writing skills draws the reader into the storyline and brings the characters, setting and storyline to life!!! There were so many times I was so absorbed that when I looked up from the book it took me a few moments to realise where I actually was! I would love to see this amazing book turned into a movie which I will be first in line for and I would also love to see more of these books by this fantastic author!!!!



Clear your schedules and grab your copy of this perfect Halloween read today and get lost in the magic between the pages!!!



The characters were all larger than life and well developed. Kate's writing, imagination and evocative descriptions bring each and every one of them to life. I absolutely loved Willow the Witch (one of my Golden Oldies is actually called Willow although she's not a witch she is blind bless her) and her gorgeous ginger cat Vincent (I have Ginger Golden Oldies but none called Vincent, in fact I've never had one called Vincent!). As I've mentioned I run Golden Oldies Cat Rescue and Hospice and am a massive animal lover so any books with animals in are always a huge bonus for me and when those animals are cats we'd they definitely get mega bonus points!!!! Willow is an absolutely magical and amazing character who I was completely invested in and was rooting for her throughout. I loved watching her and Nate's interactions and seeing them grow closer even though Willow has concerns due to being hurt previously and Nate is also careful after leaving a relationship after his girlfriend had an affair behind his back. They are both truly fantastic characters and I loved getting to know them as individuals as well as watching their relationship developing throughout the book. I also absolute adored Amber who is not only struggling with being a teenager but is also very protective of her Dad which I found sweet. Between these fantastic four characters and all the other characters who each had a part to play, not forgetting the ghosts of course, this book and all the characters will stay with me for a very long time and I cannot wait to see what Kate comes up with next. I would love to see more of these characters, hint hint Kate 😉!!




If you are looking for an absolutely gorgeous and addictive page turning magical read then your in the right place!!



An absolutely magical read that I loved getting swept away in!!! Welcome to my favourite author Club Kate Kenzie!!. A page turning and unputdownable success! An absolutely amazing debut novel!! Here's to your next guaranteed success 🥂!!




Overall a unique, magical and gorgeous page turning romance that will keep you hooked from the first word to the last!!!




379 pages.




This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle and £9.99 on paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!




Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.




Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@ABlendOfMagic @KateKenzie @WytchsYard @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger

















Author Bio


Kate Kenzie may not be Yorkshire born and bred, but it’s where her heart is and why her fictional

worlds are set in the Moors and her favourite haunt, Whitby. Creator of the Enchanted Emporium

and its residents, she blogs book reviews and author interviews at The Enchanted Emporium

Bookshelf.


Part-time writer, and full-time dreamer, if she’s not reading from her over flowing TBR pile, she is

writing or drinking tea. Like many, she always dreamed of being an author but notebooks of half-

finished novels and children’s stories were pushed aside in adulthood until a random Facebook

conversation rekindled her passion for world building. By receiving a bursary for the RNA New

Writer’s Scheme, she found her tribe.


Awarded the Katie Fforde bursary this year, she writes romantic and paranormal fiction, especially

witch lit.


Her short story, The Ghost Writer is available in an anthology, Byline Legacies by Cardigan Press.



Social Media Links





Threads: @kakenzie101



The Enchanted Emporium links:


Threads: @witch_of_whitby




Purchase Links










****Giveaway***


To win a signed copy of A Blend of Magic, two witchy reading or writing companions, a tarot inspired case and chocolate subscribe to Kate Kenzie's and the Enchanted Emporium's newsletter.


Kate Kenzie newsletter: subscribepage.io/katekenzie


The Enchanted Emporium newsletter: subscribepage.io/emporiumnewsletter


UK only - sorry. The winner will be drawn in December and will be contacted directly.


Please be spam aware









18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page