top of page

'The Night She Vanished' by Wendy Dranfield

Book Description


My parents seem to be the perfect couple. But no one knows what I know…



Everyone in the small Midwestern town of Henderson looks up to my perfect parents. With dependable jobs as a midwife and the town sheriff, they help this close-knit community feel safe. But the locals didn’t grow up in my parents’ house. They don’t know what I know. And they wouldn’t believe me if I told them…



After my best friend vanished when we were just fifteen, I left town and never looked back. I couldn’t prove it, but I think my parents killed her.



Now, years later, my little sister has vanished. I have no choice but to go home and play happy families again. Because I have to find out what my parents have done to her. I have to try to save her.



But when bones are discovered on a local farm, and all the evidence leads back to our front door, I realize I was wrong about absolutely everything. And that coming back was the deadliest thing I could do…



An utterly gripping read that will have you on the edge of your seat long into the night. If you like Freida McFadden, Lisa Jewell and Gone Girl you will love The Night She Vanished.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Night She Vanished' by Wendy Dranfield.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Wendy Dranfield, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 9th March 2023.


This is the fifth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Birthday Party', 'Cry For Help' which is the second book in the 'Detective Madison Harper' series and 'Little Girl Taken' which is the third book in the 'Detective Madison Harper' series, and 'Gone To Her Grave' which is the fourth book in the 'Detective Madsion Harper' series and I would highly recommend them all



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'An utterly gripping read that will have you on the edge of your seat long into the night. If you like Freida McFadden, Lisa Jewell and Gone Girl you will love The Night She Vanished.' I am a huge fan of Lisa and 'Gone Girl' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a fan of Wendy Dranfield and if this is half as good as 'Cry For Help', please let 'The Birthday Party', 'Little Girl Taken' and 'Gone To Her Grave' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 70 chapters l. The chapters are short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Nicole Rivers. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out on anything.


Wow!!!! Just flipping wow!!!! What an absolutely epic page turner!!! Well done Wendy you done it again!! Absolutely smashed it!!!!!!! Looking THIS IS EXACTLY WHY YOU ARE IN MY TOP 5 FAVOURITE AUTHOR LIST!!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVED!!! JUST OMG READ THIS NOW!!!


This books is very well written with vivid descriptions creating the perfect atmosphere for the storyline. The book cover and synopsis works perfectly with the book plot and I am most definitely looking forward to reading not only the next book in the 'Detective Madison Harper' series but also the next heart racing page turner!!


Yet another addictive, nail biting, page turning, heart racing and compelling storyline which had many layers of mysteries and crimes for the reader to be kept guessing throughout. This book just kept on giving and giving and giving and OMG the bombshells just kept on coming!!! Filled with twists, turns, shocks, tragedy and red herrings throughout I had no idea who did what until the end. This is an achievement in itself as it is definitely getting harder to surprise me with the amount of crime novels I've read. The plot was unique and realistic. It started straight in the action and kept you going on a roller-coaster ride of suspension throughout. I was almost in tears when I read certain things, absolutely heartbreaking. It is so hard to say how glad I am and how gutted I was about certain events without giving anything away to future readers but I'm sure once people have read it they will know exactly what I mean. Each chapter just left me wanting more and more and I CANNOT remember when I was soooo addicted to a book. I was absolutely hooked. Seriously, don't start this if you have plans as I can guarantee you won't be making them!! Well done Wendy you did absolutely amazing and everything was tied up perfectly.


Before you start this make sure you clear your schedule because once you pick it up you are not going to want to put it down!!!!


I absolutely loved meeting certain characters and couldn't stand others!! This is one of those books you just do not know who to trust and are mind blown at the end which makes it extremely hard to write my thoughts on individual characters without giving anything away as I really don't want to spoil anything for future reader!! I loved the fact that the main lead was a strong female with alot of background and yet having gone through so much and still going through so much and refusing to back down! I enjoyed that Wendy gave just the right amount of background information on the characters to let us know about them for it to be a standalone. I haven't read many of her standalone books and OMG as I hear many people say 'the girl did gooooooodddd'!!! I would love to tell you more about Nicole, Lucas and Lori but I really have to bite my tongue now so if you want to know more you'll just have to pick your copy up today! We'll done Wendy on creating another group of realistic and memorable strong characters that leap of the pages and come to life!!


Absolutely fantastic Wendy. My heart is still pounding and this story will stay with me for a long, long time.


Congratulations Wendy on yet another success and for absolutely blowing my mind time and time again!!! An absolutely addictive page turner that I would LOVE to see turned into the world's best psychological movie!!!


Overall a pulse racing, engrossing, addictive page turning psychological thriller thay will keep you on edge and will blow your mind over and over again!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first two chapters of Wendy's absolutely addictive 'The Birthday Party' which is another explosive page turner and one I have read myself and would highly recommend!!


Genres covered in this novel include Thriller, Crime Thriller & and Mystery Adventures, and Domestic Thriller, Romantic Suspense, Crime Fiction, Romantic Thriller, Domestic Suspense, Psychological Fiction, Suspense, Psychology Thriller, Suspense Thriller and Mystery amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans Melissa Leigh,Lisa Jewell, 'Gone Girl', Teresa Driscoll Angela Marsons, C. L Taylor, Freida McFadden, Carol Wyer and anyone looking for a great read.


376 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free on kindle unlimited and £9.99 in paperback via Amazon at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@TheNightSheVanished @WendyDranfield @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Netgalley @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited









Author Bio


Wendy is the bestselling author of the Detective Madison Harper crime series.


She is a former coroner's assistant turned crime writer who writes a mixture of standalone thrillers, crime series and short stories. Some of her books have been shortlisted for various writing competitions and awards, including the Mslexia novel competition and the International Thriller Writer Awards.


You can find more information on her website: wendydranfield.co.uk






Purchase Link






4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page